RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

307 Users Online (142 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Parametric Exit Sign

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 2:33:45 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#1

cdhackett


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2014
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I have a parametric exit sign that was designed to be ceiling mounted. I am trying to make two instances of that family. One to be flat wall mounted and another to be perpendicular wall mounted. I have taken the orignal and made the other two famlies.  However,  when I insert the two new families into my project and look at them in section veiw the text and arrows on the exit sign do not show up. The parameters changing the exit sign from 1 arrow to 2 arrows or 1 sided to 2 sided works with changing the annonation but cannont tell if it works with the text because I cannot see it.  I am uploading the oringal named "Parametric Exit Sign" and the other two as well.  If anyone can help fix them it would be greatly apperciated.  I know this is something everyone can use as a standard exit sign for their office because its so easy to use with being able to change the parameters with a click of a button.



Edited on: Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 4:59:23 PM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 2:47:49 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 358 Votes


Your verbage is not a solid, it is a void.  Edit your families and one at a time, pick the cut tool, then the tan items then the main sign.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 5:47:55 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#3

cdhackett


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2014
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Could you be more specific about what you mean.  I understand the cut tool but can you give me the sequence in which I am suppose to do this.  Am I suppose to cut the case, letters, etc. from the working one and paste them in the new one?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 6:02:25 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 358 Votes


  1. Edit your family
  2. one at a time, pick the cut tool (from the modify tab)
  3. then the tan items (in the lower left corner it will say second pick: select the solid object to be cut by the void)
  4. then the main sign

I thought it was prettey clear the first time but you have to be trying to do it....

I suggest you do this from a 3D view.

Image - "Exit" has been cut - void arrow blue has been selected - tan arrow waiting........



Attached Images

130549_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 9:33:29 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#5

cdhackett


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2014
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks.  Sorry for the confusion.  It worked perfectly. You saved me a lot of headache.  I tried to figure it out all day yesterday.  


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 9:52:13 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#6

cdhackett


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2014
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


One more question. Do you know why when I switch it to realistic why the red doesn't show up on the text?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 10:35:22 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#7

cdhackett


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2014
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Got it to show red but it looks like this. Cannot get the red to come through clear and to look more realstic.



Attached Images

130555_Perpendicular_Exit_Sign.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 12:22:28 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 358 Votes


That looks like you have two surfaces in the same place - one red and the other? 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 1:48:42 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#9

cdhackett


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2014
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I have a parameter set up with a yes/no button to be able to switch from red to green letters.  I was trying to create a sign that was universal that ultimately everyone could use.  Hopefully you can help me accomplish this.  Looks like this is the last issue for the time being. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 1:54:17 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#10

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


Make sure your void is cutting deeper than your letters.  It looks like they are on the same plane right now.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 2:01:35 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 358 Votes


You don't say how you got the color back into the cuts.  Paint those surfaces in the family with a material called "xxx" and let the user set the color in the project material settings.

I used your RED



Edited on: Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 9:02:20 AM

Attached Images

130585_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 4:04:09 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#12

cdhackett


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2014
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I have a parameter set up where you can change the letters from red to green.  If you look inside the case I'm using a void to control the coloring which is linked to the parameter.  I have compared both of the familes below and cannot find a difference among the two; however, the ceiling mounted sign works great in all ways including the coloring but the wall mounted letters will not work.  Ive upload the rendering views and the revit file of them both.  I'm pretty much giving up at this point.  All the parameters controling the arrows, 1 sided, or 2 sided works with the sign and annontation so thats what matters the most.  If you can fix it and upload that would be great but I'm going to have to move on as this is slowing down production.  Thanks for all your help.



This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 5:33:31 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 358 Votes


You don't have time - I don't have time.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 5:38:11 PM | Parametric Exit Sign

#14

cdhackett


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2014
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I understand.  I have been on it countless hours and jobs don't go on hold just because I can't figure out something so unfortunatley I will have to come back to this once this job has been sent out.  I will ask around in the meantime to see if anyone else can shed some light on the exit sign issue.  When I have the issue fixed I will upload it for everyone to use.  Thanks for your time.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Exit sign symbol not showing in underlayed view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 29, 2011 at 11:04:43 AM

1

GETTING EXIT SIGN TO MOUNT IN CEILING

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 25, 2010 at 4:01:23 PM

7

Exit Sign Issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 7:31:44 PM

1

MODEL TEXT BACKWARDS

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Feb 25, 2013 at 7:50:57 PM

1

Invisible annotations in Project files??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 22, 2010 at 3:10:33 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1511202

Objects:

21248

Forum Posts:

151237

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 7.7852

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights