RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

227 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 at 12:32:14 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#1

honeyina


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 12, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Hey! I use Revit 2014 and I'm having problems while exporting to dwg in the right scale.

I set to export in METERS, and in Autocad, the Model part is inthe right scale.

But when i go to LAYOUT, in the exported CAD file, its too smal.

Is there any way I can set to both MODEL and LAYOUT be exported in the right scale? 

Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 at 12:33:09 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#2

honeyina


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 12, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Im sorry, I use REVIT 2013, not the 2014.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 at 12:40:56 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 353 Votes


You have to set your views to the correct scale for metric?  You can expect this to be automatic.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 at 12:52:02 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#4

honeyina


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 12, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I set it to export in Meters. 

I expected it to be automatic, but ONLY the sheet is exported in the wrong scale. I think it is 1000x smaller.

But inthe model part everything is ok. i really dont know what to do.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 at 1:05:59 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 353 Votes


Sorry - I meant you can't expect this to be automatic.

If you want metric size sheets then you have to use them.......!

 

What are you really trying to do?  If the drawing is in feet & inch units, the drawing will still be in those units!  If you want metric, then modify the annotatons to be metric.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 2:56:48 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#6

stuthill1106


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 21, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Ok, but is there a way to set Revit to export to a specific size dwg scale? For example, when I export a 1/4" architectural Revit drawing to DWG., it opens in AutoCAD in a 1:1 drawing, which I then have to change the scale to 1/4"=1' which is our standard and gives the proper line scale. Thats not such a big deal, except that I'm often times exporting 14 floors, 2D and 3D. I would save me a lot of time and energy if I didnt have to change the scale everytime I did this. Is there a setting in Revit to change the export scale?

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 3:36:22 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 353 Votes


I'm not sure what you are doing.  When I export a file whether it be a view or several views on a sheet, they open correctly in CAD.  Perhaps someone has messed with your standards for export.  See attached.

 

Remember.... In revit, everything is 1/1 in views.  That's why we use sheets.



Edited on: Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 10:38:11 AM

Attached Images

130773_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 4:15:22 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#8

stuthill1106


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 21, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I have the same settings, However when I open the AutoCAD drawing it opens it in a 1:1 drawing. It opens correctly I just then have to change the scale on my AutoCAD drawing to a 1/4".  I was just hoping that there was a setting to automatically put it into a drawing that would OPEN in a 1/4"=1' instead of a 1:1. From what I can tell by looking at the settings, there is not, just hoping there was something I wasn't seeing. Winking

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 6:24:46 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 353 Votes


When I open my exported sheeted drawing, the view scale is 1/4" as it should be.  And the model space is drawn full scale, as it should be.  So what are you saying?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 6:34:42 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#10

stuthill1106


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 21, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Interesting. Whenever I open an exported drawing from Revit in AutoCAD, the annotation scale is 1:1. We like all of our CAD drawings to be at an annotation scale of 1/4"=1' so I just have to manually change that.  Again not that big of a deal, It's just when I have to do that for 30+ drawings it gets to be a bit tedious. I know how to mess with the export settings pretty well, I just wondered if there was a setting to change the annotation scale for when it exports into a CAD drawing.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 6:49:05 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 353 Votes


Ah.... now you say it.  The scale is correct.... But the annotative scale is 1/1.

Revit never sets the annotative scale that I know of.  When you export without x-refs, all of the views from a sheet are in one DWG.  When you have multiple scaled views on a sheet, what should the annotative scale be in model space.  Only you know what model view area you will be working in.

 

It would seem that this could be set in views that are x-ref'd and it could be set on the view properties for sheeted views.  When I worked in CAD, I always documented in sheet views and never in model space but I know most offices don't like that .... thus you have to set annotative scale every time you work in model space....


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 17, 2014 at 9:35:23 PM | Export Revit to DWG - scale problem

#12

misterjp


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 7, 2013
1 Posts
No Rating


Hello, Hola, Hallo

There is abundant text in the internet for this issue... very extens... so I solved my problem relatively easy (after reading and reading forums and sites)

My problem was: I exported my revit sheets to dwg.  In autocad is draw in mm. everything is 1000x largest. so...

1-R-export-options (last down button)-export setups for dwg/dwf-units and coordinates tab-one dwg  units is... set your unit!

2-export views or sheets

I hope this problem is solved

Éxitos !


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Export 3d DWG issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 28, 2013 at 1:27:02 PM

3

Revit 2015 - Modify DWG/DWF Export Setup - Linetypes

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Mar 2, 2016 at 9:02:28 PM

0

Revit Export to 3D .DWG still will not export Ceiling Grid Hatches?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 11, 2009 at 10:42:25 PM

0

Export to dwg problem - I want it all in 1 file :) - please heeeelp

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 23, 2008 at 10:36:53 AM

10

Dwg export: revit 2013 ignoring subcategories

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 25, 2013 at 1:12:43 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1443323

Objects:

20770

Forum Posts:

150861

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.7055

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights