RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

47 Users Online (46 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Design Option Error

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 9:33:52 AM | Design Option Error

#1

mjm223


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 10, 2014
0 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I'm working in a design option and for some reason when I add a door to a specific wall, I get an error message saying that the door is trying to host to a wall that's in the Main Model. What's strange is that the door in the design option is not physically on the wall in the Main Model.

 

Attached is a screenshot of the error. In this image, I'm in the design option and everything grayed out is in the Main Model. The door and conflicting wall are both hilighted. What's strange is that if I take the end of the wall that's actually hosting the door (the horizontal wall) and pull it away from the stair shaft so that it's no longer touching, then I won't get the error message anymore.

 

Is there any way to dissociate the door from the conflicting wall without physically seperating the horizontal wall from it?



Attached Images

129817_Error.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 9:38:34 AM | Design Option Error

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


Check the box on the wall  error message and see if it will show you that.   This wall may be below and the top too high and the door finds it.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 10:15:15 AM | Design Option Error

#3

mjm223


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 10, 2014
0 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Thanks for the quick response.

 

When I chose to have it show the wall it still showed that vertical wall that's hilighted in the last image. The wall is currently drawn as a shaft wall and thus spans the entire height of the building from basement to roof (6 stories total). There doesn't appear to be any wall directly beneath the door.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 10:42:34 AM | Design Option Error

#4

chilie


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 27, 2011
2 Posts
No Rating


I think what is happening is when you are inserting the door, it is trying to update the wall joins on the adjacent walls which is giving you the error. I use design options alot and I have come across this from time to time. One thing I've had some sucess with is to "check" the boxes that explain the error. Then you can select "delete checked items". This will then let you place the door. If that doesn't work, just pull the wall away from the other main model walls and add the door. Then just rejoin the wall.

 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 12:28:03 PM | Design Option Error

#5

mjm223


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 10, 2014
0 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Hey chilie, I've tried those before as well. One thing I should note is that the stair enclosure (stairs, walls, adjacent doors, and shaft opening) is combined into a single group (makes it easier to move the entire enclosure as one object instead of level-by-level). The walls in the design option are also in a group because they are being replicated on multiple levels. As a result, when I choose to "delete" either object (either the door or vertical wall) they're simply excluded from the group that they're in. This is nice because I can retrieve those items later after we finally accept a design option, but in the meantime, I'd still like for them to show up visually.

 

Also, when I pull the wall away from the stair enclosure and re-attach it, it just give me the same error message again.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Accepting Primary Design Option Causes Fatal Error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 29, 2015 at 3:58:30 PM

2

Design Option Issue - walls in 1 design option cutting thru a 2nd option

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 21, 2010 at 11:55:04 AM

2

Design Option view setting

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, May 16, 2014 at 8:02:11 PM

3

Placing Door in Design Option Error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jun 23, 2013 at 6:52:41 AM

3

Design Options - black hole.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 14, 2007 at 12:54:40 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1963748

Objects:

22850

Forum Posts:

152159

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7028

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights