RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

197 Users Online (96 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> Trench family for underground utillites

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 5:48:16 PM | Trench family for underground utillites

#1

Redrider619


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 28, 2008
0 Posts
No Rating


I would like to see a family that can represent underground trenching for electrical conduit bundles, plumbing piping, mechanical pipe, etc.  This would be helpful during spatial coordination.

 

Something that can be adjusted for elevation below a level, depth and width parameters and be radiuses for turning.  Maybe create a spline or poly and extrude it across.  As MEP systems become better within Revit this new family could be hosted to pipes or conduits.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 at 3:59:44 PM | Trench family for underground utillites

#2

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Yes this would be nice. REVIT isn't much for undergrounds, site or grading unfortunately.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 at 4:13:16 PM | Trench family for underground utillites

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


I'm sorry but I just don't understand this need.  Modeling this seems to be useless when you only need to be able to describe the path and have details. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 14, 2014 at 8:16:42 PM | Trench family for underground utillites

#4

Ranger57


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 26, 2005
1 Posts
No Rating


Revit is not just for modelling, it is for passing information. I have a project currently where I want to show the mains utility underground services and do it in 3d.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 14, 2014 at 8:30:14 PM | Trench family for underground utillites

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


Then model the piping in 3D and only show the site as a surface.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 1:54:12 AM | Trench family for underground utillites

#6

GaryTh3Build3r


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 10, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I too would like to see this as an added feature or would like to know another solution.

Here is why: I use revit, autocad, navis, bluebeam, 360 glue and point layout products. What I model will be the end result (that is our goal).

The family for Schedule 40 NMC does not currently accurately reflect its flexibility when being installed in the field. When I am designing my underground pipe runs I would like to be able to flex my offset over footings and snake around pilons without adding unneccisary fittings.

I would like to see a bend functionality similar to line bending in Paint that accounts for the realistic amount of flex you would see in the field.

 

Lastly, I am surprised by the moderators answer. I did not find it helpful or a useful solution. I think a lot of companies are on the cutting edge and using these tools in ways that many have not caught onto yet. What you model in CAD should be what you get in the field.

 

If anyone has created an acurrate family of NMC please share. I am also open to workarounds that don't hamper my workflow too much. Thanks.  Apologies if needed, this is my first Revcity post. Smile

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 5:02:22 PM | Trench family for underground utillites

#7

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


I agree that underground would be very helpful, especially on tight sites.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 7:50:19 PM | Trench family for underground utillites

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


GaryThe3Build3r,

I don't understand what you want.  As a Revit city moderator, I don't control or write the program so I can only give you answers as to what is available.   As I posted, you can model all the piping in 3D and not have earth shown below the surface.  Revit is NOT a civil program, it is a building program. 

 

mbsteve has posts here to shown ways of modeling surface, 3D, site elements but even that is hard to do.  At most, Revit will show the surface of topography.     

 

Perhaps you need to invest in other programs or add ins that will do what you want.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Trench Fill

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 29, 2013 at 9:20:48 AM

4

Floor Trench

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Dec 13, 2009 at 9:02:11 AM

2

underground

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 15, 2006 at 7:42:32 AM

0

Underground House

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 8, 2011 at 11:54:41 PM

1

Building Gridlines vs Underground Gridlines

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 17, 2011 at 6:49:59 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1423341

Objects:

20411

Forum Posts:

150477

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8093

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights