RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

394 Users Online (224 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> 2014 Level Head Adjustment in Sections/Elevations/Etc.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 2:35:27 PM | 2014 Level Head Adjustment in Sections/Elevations/Etc.

#1

amber01aggie


active

Joined: Wed, May 21, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


Is anybody else having this problem?

We are having trouble with the how the Level Heads are appearing in our sections/elevations.  After cutting a section, the level lines and level heads appear, but they extend beyond the view frame farther than we wish (i.e. we would like to adjust them to be closer to the view frame or within the view frame).  In previous versions of Revit, you could select the drag point on either end of the Level line and pull them in (or out) to fit your frame or whatever annotations standard your office has.  In 2014, it seems that if you do this, you are changing more than just the annotation (as if it's adjusting the lines throughout the project, instead of addressing the annotation in this one view).  In fact, it takes an abosorbatent amount of time for the program to process this change.

My first response to the issue is to change the annotation window size, but that did not adjust where the level head or tail occur.  You can change the window frame size and it will adjust accordingly and quickly all of the level lines in the view.  However, I need to have more control over those level lines (i.e. sometimes the frame size has to be bigger and I need to bring the level line heads and tails inside of that frame).

Is there a project setting, type property or view property that I can change that will allow me to adjust the location of the head and tail of a level line per the view?

Thank you for the help!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 2:50:01 PM | 2014 Level Head Adjustment in Sections/Elevations/Etc.

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Level lines and grid lines have a 3D/2D switch.  Click on the line and change that switch to 2D to adjust for that view only.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 2:53:26 PM | 2014 Level Head Adjustment in Sections/Elevations/Etc.

#3

amber01aggie


active

Joined: Wed, May 21, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


I appologize, I failed to mention that the level lines are already set to 2D and the problem still exists.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 2:55:35 PM | 2014 Level Head Adjustment in Sections/Elevations/Etc.

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Not true..... There is no overall setting so you are doing something wrong.  You have to click on each line, change the switch, then move the end point.

Be aware that scope boxes are another story.....



Edited on: Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 9:56:17 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 3:06:40 PM | 2014 Level Head Adjustment in Sections/Elevations/Etc.

#5

amber01aggie


active

Joined: Wed, May 21, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


I did not say that we clicked some "overall setting".  In these individual views, we have already changed each instance of a level line to 2D (that's what the help section told us to do).  We are still experiencing the problem of not being able to edit the individual level line ends to meet our needs as described above.  I have not quam about saying that, yes, I am sure we are doing SOMETHING wrong.  However, it doesn't appear to be the obvious fix.  That is why I was hoping to get some help from the user community.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 3:17:33 PM | 2014 Level Head Adjustment in Sections/Elevations/Etc.

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


The switch does not stay on!  UNless you move it in 2D - then it says 2D when picked.

Maybe this will help you: http://www.revitzone.com/presentation-and-graphics/143-levels-2d-and-3d-extents-explained



Edited on: Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 10:18:36 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 4:26:08 PM | 2014 Level Head Adjustment in Sections/Elevations/Etc.

#7

amber01aggie


active

Joined: Wed, May 21, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


This link was very helpful in explaining to my team members how level and grid lines work.  Thank you.

I believe our issues with level lines are really dependant upon how many items actually reference those level lines. This is why:  We have no problems adjusting grid lines and their endpoints as 2D elements.  They lock, unlock and move as described in the literature.  Our level lines, however, seemed to be continuously processing any movement and would never anchor to the adjusted point.  I found that one of our level lines, which happens to not have too many associations, would act correctly, locking, unlocking and moving just like the grid lines.  So, in theory, the level lines with more references have to process more. 

But here's my question.  If we are acting in 2D by adjusting the 2D level line width (not up or down, which would be changing an entire project worth of info), why would it have to process so much information?  Why is it taking so long to make the adjustment?  Are we still doing something wrong in the treatment of these level lines?  Is there a way to make this a more efficient process?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 6:08:44 PM | 2014 Level Head Adjustment in Sections/Elevations/Etc.

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


A level is really a work plane that is infinite in space so objects may be hosted to a level even if the level is not shown in 3D as being under the element.

A 2D level line, end adjustment horizontally should never take any time.  It is only an annotative move EXCEPT: if you have dependent views!  Then Revit has to make this same change in all dependent views and that can be problematic.  ALSO  If your level end location is locked to other 2D level ends, they will also have to move.   A 2D level end will never lock to a 3D level end so that is not a problem.  It can align with them however.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Using Filers on Elevations & Sections

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 19, 2013 at 2:41:35 PM

0

Level-Head on linked Revit-file visible... puzzler.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 11, 2011 at 1:29:34 PM

2

levels in sections/elevations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 9, 2006 at 4:18:21 PM

2

Casework Elevations and Sections

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Jan 16, 2013 at 9:42:09 PM

1

change size of level head from standard 1/4" Head?

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Apr 14, 2009 at 6:09:16 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1531764

Objects:

21320

Forum Posts:

151323

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5416

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights