RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

205 Users Online (72 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Detail Components and How to Schedule them

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Feb 23, 2006 at 7:49:36 PM | Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#1

Cristina


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
5 Posts
No Rating


I have searched the threads, but I didn't find a similar question (it may be there, I just couldn't find it). I created a very simple detail component, a rectangle with a length and a width as parameters. It's supposed to represent some construction detail (radiant cooling mats) and I would be place one to several per room. I created it as a family because I need to schedule them in order to have a count per occurrence and their measurements and areas. How can I schedule this type of object, under what category? I tried an Area schedule, but it doesn't have length or width fields. I'll greatly appreciate any help on this subject.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 23, 2006 at 8:16:34 PM | RE: Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#2

arccodex1


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 6, 2005
241 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


You could try starting with a Mechanical or Specialty Equipment family template instead of a Detail Component template.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 23, 2006 at 9:49:57 PM | RE: Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Only model elements can be scheduled. A detail component is a 2D detail item, and as such cannot be scheduled. Recreate it as a model element as suggested by arccodex1.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 23, 2006 at 9:59:07 PM | RE: Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#4

Cristina


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
5 Posts
No Rating


Thank you arccodex1 and Mr. Spot. I'll try the suggested solution. Cristina

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 23, 2006 at 10:21:33 PM | RE: Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#5

Cristina


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
5 Posts
No Rating


I tried my "rectangle" as a Specialty Equipment as well as a Mechanical Equipment. The problem is that neither of those families have a width or length fields, which is what I need. I am thinking of other possible solution. I was able to create an area schedule for my mats and thus obtain the square footage. Since Revit is able to calculate the area using the mats width and length, it should be a way for me to obtain them (I defined width and length to my detail component family). How can I add those parameters to the area schedule? Is there a formula to obtain those values using the area? (I'm not too good at math). Thank you. Cristina

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 23, 2006 at 10:45:25 PM | RE: Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#6

arccodex1


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 6, 2005
241 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


You can add Width and Length Parameters to Mech and Specialty families. Just dimension the rectangle, select the dimension, and change the Label to <Add Parameter>. You can then add an Area Parameter under Family Types using the formula "Length * Width" Remembering that formulas are case sensitive.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 23, 2006 at 11:16:45 PM | RE: Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#7

Cristina


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
5 Posts
No Rating


Hi arccodex1, I did it exactly the way you say. The problem is that when I create a Schedule, Length and Width are not available fields for Mechanical Equipment. So, I added two parameters to the schedule, one for Length and other for Width, but the schedule shows no values for those fields, Revit doesn't see them even when the parameters are part of the family. Should have I made them shared parameters?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 23, 2006 at 11:35:25 PM | RE: Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#8

arccodex1


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 6, 2005
241 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Yeah, Sorry they'll have to be shared parameters.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 24, 2006 at 12:43:34 AM | RE: Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#9

Cristina


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
5 Posts
No Rating


Hi arccodex1, Thanks a million. I got it to work. It's going to save me a lot of time. Cristina

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 17, 2014 at 2:25:37 PM | Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#10

stefanlen


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 2, 2010
0 Posts
No Rating


Hey, I know this is years later, but you CAN schedule detail components, but you need to use a NOTE BLOCK. if you add shared parameters, etc, you can even get the lengths or areas, just like a regular schedule.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 17, 2014 at 2:33:58 PM | Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#11

oneworld279


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 2, 2013
24 Posts
No Rating


Stefanlen, Can you explain a bit?


-----------------------------------

In Solidarity

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 17, 2014 at 3:04:01 PM | Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


stefanlan,

 

You don't need a noteblock to schedule detail components.  A regular schedule does this.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 6, 2015 at 7:19:22 AM | Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#13

DuncanNZ


active
DuncanNZ Avatar

Joined: Wed, Sep 12, 2012
1 Posts
No Rating


What I'm really missing is a way to add View/Sheet information to a Detail Item Schedule. Any ideas?

I've decided to add some mounting brackets to a facade sheathing DC, but I need to go around and check by instance that the placement of the brackets is correct.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 6, 2015 at 2:32:44 PM | Detail Components and How to Schedule them

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


There is no way to automatically schedule where a detail component is used.  You will have to do that manually.  Even a model component will not schedule what views it is in.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Detail components in multiple views.

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 7:46:35 PM

7

Visibility/Graphics and Detail Components

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 at 8:53:36 PM

2

Furniture as detail components

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Nov 9, 2011 at 11:30:43 PM

3

Detail Components with Demo Objects

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:34:29 PM

3

PLEASE CREATE MORE DETAIL COMPONENTS

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, Apr 20, 2005 at 12:46:13 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1529793

Objects:

21317

Forum Posts:

151311

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1381

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights