RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

209 Users Online (84 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Lines, again

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 7:13:33 PM | Lines, again

#1

minsky


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


REVIT 2013

Alright, I know no one uses drafting views for drafting, but I do.  

 

I'm dealing with ANNOTATION: DETAIL LINES in DRAFTING VIEWS.

I've created a template and erased all line scales' widths with the exception of 1/8", attempting to resolve changing line issues for SMALL drafting scales.  I was told Revit wouldn't rescale lines when changing to other scales if I did that.  

I changed line stles 1-16.  

1 & 16 are now the smallest possible, reserved for several reasons.  

2-15 are now NORMAL pen weights, up to 2mm.  

 

In a drafting view, and a scale of 12" = 1', lines 15 (2mm), 13(1.5mm) and 11(1mm) appear distinct from each other.  

Then Revit is still scaling these lines at different scales.  At a scale or 3" = 1" the things are ugly fat.  

At larger scales they get so wide you cannot tell there are three lines within this big black blob.  

 

In a floor plan view, at those same scales, the same lines barely show a thickness, never mind different thicknesses. Is this merely a "zoomed in" thing that Revit does?  Of course, 12':1' shows details of fractions of one inch. Enlarging that would "zoom in" to that area but why does it change the width of the line?

1/32 text is standard no matter what the scale of the drawing.  


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 7:34:15 PM | Lines, again

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


All revit lines scale with the view.  But zooming in aview may give you strange results:  Read your HELP:

Maintaining Line Thickness when Zooming

Then read these:

Line Weights

And look at your lineweights chart... see attached:

 



Attached Images

129250_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 8:09:31 PM | Lines, again

#3

minsky


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


You attached image, I have already, as I said eariler, deleted ALL scales and thicknesses with the exception of 1/8" so consider your attaached image with only ONE scaled in there @ 1/8" and the thicknesses edited on a scaled of NORMAL technical pen widths (14 of them) up to 2mm.  

 

Ok, following?

The template I am making should now NOT have any line wdiths for any other scale, correct????  But it seems that it DOES.   Spooky revit is.    


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 8:25:40 PM | Lines, again

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


Listen,  Don't try to make Revit into CAD..... It is not and none of us want it to be. 

DON'T DO WHAT YOU ARE DOING! 

You want lineweights similar to ours or the defaults when you started.  Learn how the system works!  Start with just the simple THIN, MEDIUM, Heavy and use those in your views.  No matter what view scale you use, these lines will ALWAYS print in a manner that is very similar to what you would want.  You will never have to think like you did in CAD because when you change a view scale, everything will still be OK.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 9:25:36 PM | Lines, again

#5

minsky


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


No,  you look.  You told me in your first post to look at something that I explained in my first post that I had already edited.

 

Try this:  Try drawing a volute at 1-1/2" scale.  and better yet, try dimensioning that volute.  Says 3/32" text, but it's not and it does not print that size either.

 

Now, perhaps you could create some videos for this site demonstrating WHY "we" (that means all the revit defenders and lovers) want things this way.  And explain it well because I don't think you can.  1/32" text means 1/32."  It doesn't mean 1/32" RELATIVE to whatever scale you happen to be working in.

 

And better yet, pit the SUBMIT button for these comments on the lower right, where it USUALLY is everywhere else.

 

Ok?  Go!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 9:32:06 PM | Lines, again

#6

minsky


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Yo meng, I'm a post pictures to show youz


This user is offline

 

Sat, Mar 1, 2014 at 3:51:45 AM | Lines, again

#7

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Minsky Wrote: "Now, perhaps you could create some videos for this site demonstrating WHY "we" (that means all the revit defenders and lovers) want things this way.  And explain it well because I don't think you can.  1/32" text means 1/32."  It doesn't mean 1/32" RELATIVE to whatever scale you happen to be working in."

Dude, that is just crazy talk. I can't even fathom what you mean here...


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 3, 2014 at 1:30:16 PM | Lines, again

#8

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


I don't think you understand Revit.  If you create text at 1/32 it WILL print at 1/32 no matter what your view scale is and this is EXACTLY how it should be.

 

"Try this:  Try drawing a volute at 1-1/2" scale.  and better yet, try dimensioning that volute.  Says 3/32" text, but it's not and it does not print that size either."  If your text is set to 3/32 it will print at that, if it is not printing at that the YOU are doing something wrong.  Also nobody is going to create a video for you on creating text sizes or line styles, all of it is in your help and you attitude won't get you much further help.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 3, 2014 at 2:21:01 PM | Lines, again

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


If your text set to 1/32" doesn't print 1/32" in paper space then you are NOT printing 100% ...


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Can you convert model lines to detail lines?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 31, 2010 at 5:45:23 PM

4

Model Lines to Detail Lines???

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 1, 2008 at 2:24:50 AM

4

Symbolic Lines and Model Lines

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, Mar 22, 2006 at 6:52:17 PM

0

Lines plotting half toned

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 15, 2012 at 3:42:01 PM

9

Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 1, 2018 at 7:57:52 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1758846

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3965

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights