RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

209 Users Online (79 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> copy paste to a linked file

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Feb 16, 2014 at 9:13:09 AM | copy paste to a linked file

#1

solidsnakeala


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 12, 2013
23 Posts
No Rating


i am workin on revit 2014,

i am working on a 3 story hospital building and i made the ceiling plan with all the light fixtures on the same file .. now the problem is that our manager decided to seperate the electrical work than the architectural . So we opened a new electrical template and linked our original file to it . THEN we tried to copy and paste all the light fixtures to the same place but they cant find the hosts !! I dont know why.... 

anyone can help ,  Do i have to do the lighting of the whole hospital again from scratch ?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Feb 16, 2014 at 6:08:05 PM | copy paste to a linked file

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


If the light fixtures are hosted (and they are) then you need to own the host.That is what copy monitor is for....so you have a copy of an element in your file.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 6:57:33 AM | copy paste to a linked file

#3

solidsnakeala


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 12, 2013
23 Posts
No Rating


I tried copy monitor ... most of the objects can be copied but the ceiling which is my host can not be copied or monitored !! Why ?? 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 1:42:05 PM | copy paste to a linked file

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


I don't use systems so I was not fully aware that you can't copy monitor a ceiling.  You will have to place your own.  It might be the generic one that is there on startup.... it has no properties other than being a plane that Revit identifies as a ceiling.  Or you can copy the ceilings from the other file and paste them in.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Copy and Paste Elements from Linked Models is Easy !

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jul 4, 2019 at 9:23:18 PM

2

Copy & Paste into Teamwork file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 11, 2008 at 2:47:27 PM

0

Revit MEP 2010 copy/paste lighting fixtures

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sun, Feb 16, 2014 at 6:46:34 AM

1

Saving a copy of a Revit Masterplan file with linked buildings to a new location

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 at 5:57:34 PM

4

Copy and Paste

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 6, 2009 at 11:31:33 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1475340

Objects:

21063

Forum Posts:

151026

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9540

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights