RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

66 Users Online (64 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 12:31:06 PM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#1

doug303


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 11, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


We're running Revit 2014, and imported a .dwg file from an Owner. Now, all elements are displaying heavily distorted, apparently regardless of view settings - see attached. We've also seen the distortion on multiple computers - both laptop and desktop.

 

Has anyone else encountered this?

 

Thank you -



Attached Images

128722_Example_1.jpg128722_Example_2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 12:41:46 PM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


While your view is strange, we don't know what the distortion is.  If it is the funny juction between elements, that is probably an ACAD issue.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 3:18:44 PM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#3

doug303


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 11, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


Sorry, it's hard to be much more clear. Refer to the attached picture. That pipe is all the same size, and Revit's visual representation of it changes with every turn of the mouse wheel for zooming - the edges and ends jitter around wildly as you scroll in and out.

Even when I Copy/Paste-Aligned those pipes into a new, blank project, they show up "broken" like that.

Also see attached for how that particular arrangement of pipes *should* look, when I just build them in a new project without having imported the CAD.

Thank you again -



Attached Images

128727_Example_3.jpg128727_Example_-_Normal.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 3:30:41 PM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


As I stated, this is a CAD issue.  I don't know if these elements were created from native CAD or some sort of add-on package but either way, they obviously don't connect cleanly.  Shapes like this are not as easy to create in CAD as they are in Revit.  CAD deals with faceted round shapes but revit uses extruded curves/circles. 

 

Either you live with this, create your own in Revit or have the author of the CAD file do it better (if they can).


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 3:31:24 PM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#5

doug303


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 11, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


More - the same intersection at two slightly different zoom levels.



Attached Images

128729_Example_4.jpg128729_Example_5.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 3:34:45 PM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#6

doug303


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 11, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


No - these are standard pipe elements that I'm creating in Revit, with a 2D single-line CAD file in the background for reference only.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 3:46:22 PM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


For reference how?  If you point to that linework at all, you are creating a problem.  Get rid of the CAD and then make your piping connections.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 3:51:35 PM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#8

doug303


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 11, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


The CAD is just a background to trace over. The new Revit elements aren't referencing it in any way (that I'm aware of).


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 4:03:31 PM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


Seems like you might just try what I suggest......CAD creates a lot of problems.  Revit likes to associate with line elements whever possible.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 7:21:58 AM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


I thought a little more about this.  I initially thought everything was created in CAD.  Does this print correctly?  If so, then it is a graphic card issue.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 7:34:51 AM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#11

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


These pipes look all sorts of messed up.  I would try what WWHub says in his last post first.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 10:05:51 AM | Revit conflict with AutoCAD dwg - element graphics display issues

#12

doug303


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 11, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


Looks like printing yields similar results - see attached.

Oh well. I ran out of time for troubleshooting this, so I just created a jpg of the CAD file to use as a Raster Image background, and inserted it into a new, blank model.

Thank you for thinking about this with me - I'm sure it's just a matter of the CAD file being corrupt somehow.

 

- Doug



Attached Images

128761_Printed.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

revit dwg into autocad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 27, 2010 at 11:13:41 AM

5

Linked DWG's & Model Display

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 6:09:33 PM

1

Autodesk issues Tech Bulletin: Service Issues Affecting Revit 9-Based Software

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 1, 2006 at 11:02:48 PM

0

Blue Line - Visibility/Graphics Issues in Floor Plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 6, 2018 at 7:56:57 AM

10

Export 3d DWG issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 28, 2013 at 8:27:02 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1987042

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152184

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6899

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights