RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

209 Users Online (90 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Have forgotten how to get existing door tags not to show.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 9:18:00 PM | Have forgotten how to get existing door tags not to show.

#1

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


Need a little guidance.  I can set the door schedule to show new only, but the existing doors on the plan have door tags and I have forgotten how to turn that off.  Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 9:32:17 PM | Have forgotten how to get existing door tags not to show.

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


Don't place them in that view. 

You should have seperate views for whatever you are doing.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 9:46:02 PM | Have forgotten how to get existing door tags not to show.

#3

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


I have an addition and need to show the existing floor plan in the same plan view as the addition floor plan.  I can manually select the existing door tags and hide them in that view but I was hoping for an easier way.  The schedule allows the parameter of showing "new only".  I guess the "tag" command doesn't have a "new only" option.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 9:54:10 PM | Have forgotten how to get existing door tags not to show.

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


Again..... don't tag the door in the view you are using!   The door will still have the number - it just doesn't show. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 6, 2014 at 4:41:20 PM | Have forgotten how to get existing door tags not to show.

#5

ArchAddict


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 2, 2009
36 Posts
No Rating


HogModo,

A quick way to fix over-tagging like that would be to temporarily switch your view to existing only (Create a new phase filter if you need to) and then pick a door tag and choose "Select all in view" and delete the tags (Or hide if you think you might want them later). Then reset your phase filter to New and Existing (or whatever it was).

Edit:

Alternatively instead of picking one door tag and selecting all in view, you can drag select over the view, and use filter to pick door, window, any other tags you want and delete/hide multiple categories in one shot.



Edited on: Thu, Feb 6, 2014 at 10:43:20 AM

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 6, 2014 at 5:05:17 PM | Have forgotten how to get existing door tags not to show.

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


Arch...

I think this is a bad process.  For different needs, you should have seperate views defined, each with their own VG settings.  Door tags are so easy to place so there is really no issues here.  If the view should not have door tags then simply don't place them.  If you created the view using copy with detailing or tagged all the doors using "tag all" then just delete these tags. 

 

Hiding an annotative element that should not be there at all is asking for future problems.  Annotative elements are placed by choice... not automatic.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 6, 2014 at 6:00:31 PM | Have forgotten how to get existing door tags not to show.

#7

ArchAddict


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 2, 2009
36 Posts
No Rating


I'm not promoting overtagging then deleting, but sometimes when your using the tag all you forget to change to selected items and get entire view or for whatever reason you find yourself with too many tags, thats a fast way to Fix that specific problem... which he obviously already has...

obviously the best solution is to avoid creating the problem in the first place.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Door Tags

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 12, 2014 at 1:31:35 PM

1

door tag

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Feb 18, 2005 at 2:51:59 AM

9

if yes/no statement controlled by if yes/no statement

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 22, 2013 at 10:08:26 PM

4

New door in existing wall

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 24, 2014 at 9:38:47 PM

2

Nested door family - tags wil only show in elevation view?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 9, 2010 at 2:53:32 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1460966

Objects:

20473

Forum Posts:

150566

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7797

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights