RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

190 Users Online (60 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 6:56:53 PM | 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

#1

clopez


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 13, 2006
0 Posts
No Rating


Our office uses a 2'x2' grid system when laying out design work and follows through to construciton documents. The grid is an autocad black

that is visible when printed and we can snap to it. How would I go about creating a family that is based on a 2'x2' grid that is visible

and can eb snapped to?


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 7:12:11 PM | 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


Interesting, you use a 2'x2' grid that actually shows up on your drawings when you print them? This seems weird to me as I have never seen this done but I would probably just do this as model lines and array and group them.

 

If you need different sizes for different projects you could do an generic annotation family or generic model and draw your lines with arrays to make them parametric so you can change the size if needed.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 7:31:11 PM | 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

#3

clopez


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 13, 2006
0 Posts
No Rating


We use this as a design tool, it also cuts down our dimensioning by 90% or so. What kind of object would I use to create the gird?


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 7:33:53 PM | 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

#4

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


A model line if you want to see it everywhere, detail line if you want it view specific


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 7:34:29 PM | 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


So you don't have grids? ....<<< In that case, use them and don't have any bubbles.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 7:35:37 PM | WWHub

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


Quoting WWHub from 2014-02-05 13:34:29

"

So you don't have grids? ....<<< In that case, use them and don't have any bubbles.

"

Good idea also


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 7:54:58 PM | 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

#7

ArchAddict


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 2, 2009
36 Posts
No Rating


I'd second the model lines in an array so its adjustable, I would Avoid a generic annotation as the spacing would depend on scale (blow up plans would be wrong), Generic Model would work fine, add instance/type parameters to the arrays in the family so you can adjust per model. 

Also if your in 2014 you can pin it and set your selection options to not select pinned items so you dont keep grabbing it (and moving it) accidentally.

Also I would put it on its own workset so you get some visual control that way (or change visual appearance via filters per view)


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 8:00:22 PM | 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

#8

clopez


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 13, 2006
0 Posts
No Rating


It's not a grid made of lines rather it's a grid made up of dots.



Attached Images

128448_ScreenHunter144_Feb._05_14.53.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 8:08:33 PM | 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

#9

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


So create a line with a dot pattern.

 

I didn't look at your photo, I think your best bet is going to be creating a generic model family as WWHub said



Edited on: Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 2:28:13 PM

Attached Images

128449_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 8:10:47 PM | 2'x2' Diemsional Grid

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


You can create a model based family that is your dots.  Use a non cuttable family template and have reference planes in both directions on your 2' spacing.  Set all reference planes to "Is Reference".  Add a vertical element - invisible line - that is taller than your building.  Insert this into your project in a special workset so you can turn it off when you want it off. Pin it.

 

Now it will show in all plan views.  You can align & dimension to all the reference plane locations.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Ceilling work

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:44:48 PM

3

columns in walls

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:25:36 PM

0

Grid's automatic scaling

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 22, 2016 at 1:31:58 PM

6

Add ''scale'' on a drawing list, when it is not under ''available fiel

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 12, 2012 at 2:35:32 PM

4

Ceiling grid rotates when mirrored, lights fixtures don't.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 20, 2011 at 8:49:43 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1490989

Objects:

21151

Forum Posts:

151137

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3580

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights