RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

155 Users Online (55 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit Demolition Plan

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Tue, Feb 4, 2014 at 7:47:27 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#1

Devonshire


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 28, 2007
46 Posts
No Rating


I wanted to hear how others are solving this challenge to create a proper demolition plan based on the existing condition view. This is very easy in AutoCAD. 

Goal: To create a (traditional) demolition plan that shows the walls, doors, windows, etc. to be demolished as highlighted and hatched over the existing conditions view.  This is traditionally a bold, dashed red line and a red diagonal hatch so that what is scheduled to be demolished is very clear.

The challenge occurs is that to get this view it is actually a view of the New Construction Phase that is showing the filter: Previous + Demo condition.  Then technically, the existing phase rooms no longer exist so any attempt to label the rooms with the automated room tools on the "Architecture" menu will create the NEW rooms rather than the EXISTING Rooms. That is a big and ugly problem. A demo plan needs to be based on the existing plan views! 

The only proper work-around I can figure out is to use the view phase set to NEW Construction with the Phase filter set to Previous + New.  Then it looks right. Then to avoid using the room tool for the changed areas.  in the changed areas to then add a MANUAL Annotation to enter the Existing Room Name, Number and Area Manually. This is of course slow and potentially error prone.

Creating a separate DEMO phase doesn't seem to improve this challenge since showing the DEMO phase also has the conudrum of showing demolished objects that technically don't exist anymore so that the room tool can't be used as expected either....

Again, I'd love to hear how others overcome this challenge or have  some brilliant solution.  So far Autodesk has no easy solutions either.  Thanks in advance.


-----------------------------------
Architect

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 4, 2014 at 7:57:43 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 336 Votes


Revit is very VERY easy!  But you have to learn the correct definitions of the term phase.

Watch this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SHXJ4-K7Fqs


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 10:44:59 AM | Revit Demolition Plan

#3

Devonshire


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 28, 2007
46 Posts
No Rating


I watched your demo and I already know that...

The problem comes in when one tries to place a room tag on the demo plan; the rooms are from the New Construction Floor Plan and can't match the existing conditions that are being shown on the demo plan when they are being changed.  (Your video didn't attempt that or show that key aspect).

I'd like to be able to track what changes to utilize Revit's scheduling tools and of couse to be efficient. This is horrendous when working on larger and multistory remodel projects.

The only solution I came up with is to make an annotation that matches the room tag and manually place and fill in the data.  This is tedious at best and error prone at worst when one mixes an automatic system with mixed manual elements.

I discussed it with Autodesk and sadly, they have no solution.

 


-----------------------------------
Architect

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 1:32:19 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 336 Votes


I wrote this in another post and it may help you:

Architecturally, we think of demo as a phase but in Revit, it is a process done in another phase.  That phase is your choice.  Typically, we like to demo in the new phase but in this instance, setting the demo of the walls to existing allows the room tags to show.  If you are not sure about the process, do some tests where you try out all the settings.  Always remember that there are two settings for every view.  What phase the view is and what phase filter is applied.  A view in existing phase will not show anything if the view is set to previous.

.... If you demo in existing and the phase of the view is set to existing and the phase filter is set to show all  the plan view on the left has all existing components including rooms in the existing phase.   Since new is not there in the existing phase, nothing new will show.

....Setting the new view to new phase and filter to show all.  will then just show remaining existing items and new.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 10, 2016 at 7:11:55 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#5

hkhusaibi


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 23, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Has anyone responded to this? I am trying to create a set of demolition plans and having difficulty using phases to "reverse" a project.

 

Basically show demolition of Floor #(00) and using keynotes for the procedure (In plan, section and elevation view)

Then going down the floors to grade.

Any insight on how others do this, using phases, please let me know


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 3:41:49 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#6

Polar


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 7, 2008
57 Posts
No Rating


You are probably already aware of this, but rooms are phase dependent - areas however are not phase dependent. (that I know of)

 

We show increased areas for building additions with a separate area and then total the areas in a schedule.

 

Would that work for you?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 9:46:10 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#7

Devonshire


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 28, 2007
46 Posts
No Rating


Interesting but that still doesn't accomplish an automated demo plan... 


-----------------------------------
Architect

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 10:00:41 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#8

hkhusaibi


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 23, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Agreed. Still doesnt solve populating demolition plans of buildings.

Another thought would be to use worksets, and use hide certain worksets using the visibility settings of a particular sheet/view.

OR - save as a model with the elements completely removed/ommitted.

Still curious to know, best practices or how do others report their demolition plans using Revit (vs AutoCAD)


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 30, 2016 at 4:02:34 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#9

Dozing


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 1, 2012
29 Posts
No Rating


Okay, I have come up with a strategy that is working for me right now.  I don't know if it will work in all applications, but for now, it is good.  I have created another phase between "existing" and "new construction".  In this phase I have the view set to show all.  I have demo'd all that needs to be demo'd and added openings to the existing.  Elements that are new build items, such as a wall where there was not one previously, I save for the "new construction" phase.  Since "show all" is set the existing and demo'd items show per the graphic overrides.  I do have to use the "line work" tool in the new construction phase to get elements to show up as intended, but it has been minimal.  FYI, the "tag all" option does work in the tween phase since the rooms have not yet been adjusted to the renovation.  Hope this helps someone.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 30, 2016 at 8:14:34 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#10

Dozing


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 1, 2012
29 Posts
No Rating


Now that I have worked further... It seems as though, if the setting for demolished (In the Phase Filters) was set to "Overridden" on the "Show Previous Phase" filter, one might achieve the desired outcome...


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 1, 2016 at 4:26:10 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#11

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


I would not create a new phase. This can become very confusing especially if working with consultants in other disciplines and linking models.

 

What I do for demo plan rooms is create a dummy view in the existing phase that has everything turned off in the view except rooms and room tags. Then you place this view on the sheet in the same place as your demo plan. then if you hide the view it will not allow you to select it but the tags will still be visible.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 29, 2018 at 12:23:38 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#12

DKeeran


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 2, 2008
0 Posts
No Rating


More than a year after the last post and still AutoDesk does not "get it".  I wonder if any of the programmers there ever speaks to Architects and Engineers whom they servce?  It is still impossible to easily display a Demo Plan or Section properly without some trick or work around or tedious process, like making fake Room Tags or placing another existing view on top of the Demo view to properly show the correct Phase, etc. in the Demo Plan.  Also Revit automatically refuses to show detail of "Previous" phase as an "all or nothing" setting.   I would think the simplest solution would be to make it possible might be to make is possible to change the Phase of the "Underlay" view.  But alas, it is not possible.   


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 29, 2018 at 12:35:47 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 336 Votes


I have never had a problem ... learn how phases work and use it instead of fighting it.

Did you at least watch the video link I posted in 2014?



Edited on: Thu, Mar 29, 2018 at 7:40:59 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 16, 2019 at 9:43:35 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#14

wally21


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I watched the video, and it's the same crap that Autodesk and its minions keep feeding its loyal subjects.  If I have to hear or read "In Revit, demolition is not a phase" one more time, I will scream. 

As the OP stated way back in 2014, Revit's approach to demolition seems great until you actually want to create a demolition plan with room tags.  If your demolition plan resides in the New Construction phase, then so do your rooms, but go figure, you're demolishing exising stuff (walls, doors, ROOMS, etc.), so you want to show the existing rooms and room tags.  Revit's convoluted official work around is to create a room-tag only view that shows the existing rooms and place it over the demo plan on a sheet.  That's horrendously stupid. 

Putting demoltion in the Exisitng phase isn't much better, since you get into all sorts of graphical issues with how the exisitng walls and infill elements display.

I know that I'm venting, but I'm just tired of being told to drink the Kool-Aid.  Revit needs to work for us, the designers, not the other way around. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 17, 2019 at 9:37:55 PM | Revit Demolition Plan

#15

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 336 Votes


Rooms are model elements just like walls.  As such, they exist in the phase they were created.  You can have a floor plan that has some rooms (w/ tags) that are existing and some that are new rooms (w/tags).

RWe typically have a Demolition Plan and obviously a new Floor Plan showing appropriate rooms and tags.  You just have to pay attention to your settings.

Trying to follow someone's so called work around is a big mistake.  They too didnn't know what to do.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Modelling a demolition project in Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 4:08:26 PM

5

Calculate Demolition

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 8, 2015 at 8:56:11 PM

2

Overall Demolition Plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 at 4:50:58 PM

2

Phasing and Room Tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 26, 2010 at 2:47:45 PM

5

Demolition Lines Scale wrong / not showing with components.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 22, 2007 at 2:55:09 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1332902

Objects:

20222

Forum Posts:

150187

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.1926

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights