RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

178 Users Online (100 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> removing familes

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jan 29, 2014 at 6:52:22 PM | removing familes

#1

DLowery


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 25, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


In revit 2013, I would like to only have families in my projects that I might use.  There are about six 3D families I have created for use in myprojects, and I will never use conduits and pipes and fifty or so other families that are in the drop down list when I want to place one of mine.  Many I cannot delete from the project browser becassue they are the "last type" or something and none can I purge.  


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 1:22:43 PM | removing familes

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 43 Votes


Go into your project browser under families and click on the ones you want gone, right click and delete them


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 4:10:49 PM | removing familes

#3

DLowery


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 25, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


As I said, I cannot delete many families because they are the "last type," whatever that means and I still have 100 or so families in the drop down list when I want to place a component.  

It seems like Revit really wants me to use ductwork and ceilings and stairs and piping and stuff from many disciplines that I would never, ever use. At all.  Ever.  

 

Why can't I customize it to only have my families?  Do I need to create a template perhaps, that only has my families in it?  Can it be done?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 4:28:58 PM | removing familes

#4

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 43 Votes


Ahhh I see what you are saying now I'm sorry I mis-read you post.  System families cannot be deleted so therefore there must be at least 1 instance of the family.   

 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 6:16:00 PM | removing familes

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


Are you doing systems -MEP?

In architecture, there are only a few families that are system level families that can't be deleted but they are so few, that should not be a problem..... floor, wall, roof, curtain wall, stacked wall, mullions, panels, some profiles, stairs, levels, views  & some annotations


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 7:10:28 PM | removing familes

#6

DLowery


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 25, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


As I said, I cannot delete many families because they are the "last type," whatever that means and I still have 100 or so families in the drop down list when I want to place a component.  

It seems like Revit really wants me to use ductwork and ceilings and stairs and piping and stuff from many disciplines that I would never, ever use. At all.  Ever.  

 

Why can't I customize it to only have my families?  Do I need to create a template perhaps, that only has my families in it?  Can it be done?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 7:30:28 PM | removing familes

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


You can not delete system families and they really take up very little space.  If your not working in those categories, you don't really have to deal with them.  Just don't expand those categories in your browser.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Familes wont schedule within rooms that they are placed in

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 2, 2009 at 3:00:00 PM

4

Wall hosted familes (simple question)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 15, 2013 at 8:45:24 AM

6

Needing help on how to create an electrical family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 8, 2016 at 9:45:38 PM

0

Updating Grouped Familes that are copied.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 25, 2007 at 6:15:27 PM

0

What's the difference between Unloading a Linked Revit File and Removing? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 27, 2017 at 7:57:44 PM

16

Site Stats

Members:

1457364

Objects:

20594

Forum Posts:

150681

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0602

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights