RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

194 Users Online (52 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Ctril and Shift not working

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 5:48:54 PM | Ctril and Shift not working

#1

jtebok


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 24, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


Hi revitcity,

My girlfriend is having some problems with her revit; I've never had these issues and I can't seem to fix them. She has a wall that has a bunch of windows in it (the windows are curtain walls). She wants to select all the windows and copy them up/down to the next level of the building. The problem is that when I go to select multiple windows, I can't. When I hold down ctrl to select more than one window nothing happens.

The other problem is with the shift key, after I move a window down and cut it out of the host wall I can't hold shift to move it to where ever I want (whether constrain is selected or not).

To sum it up, her ctrl and shift key aren't doing what they normally do in revit. We've tried different computers, so it seems to be something up with revit.

Thanks,


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 6:03:02 PM | Ctril and Shift not working

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Is she selecting just the curtain walls or actual mullions and panels as well?  Check your selection filter.

She should be ablt to pick these items, copy to clipboard and paste aligned to selected levels.  Best to do this from a plan view using the tab key to select what you want.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 6:24:30 PM | Ctril and Shift not working

#3

jtebok


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 24, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


Yah so when I go to select the curtain wall, I click tab until it is just selecting the wall. Still no luck.

Plus it is a design project so right now shes doing it in elevation for the sake of moving the windows where it will benefit the design.

...I do this all the time... copy and paste, I've never not been able to select multiple objects.

That is the problem, I can't even select a curtain wall....hold ctrl...and select another wall


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 6:29:23 PM | Ctril and Shift not working

#4

jtebok


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 24, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


Yah so when I go to select the curtain wall, I click tab until it is just selecting the wall. Still no luck.

Plus it is a design project so right now shes doing it in elevation for the sake of moving the windows where it will benefit the design.

...I do this all the time... copy and paste, I've never not been able to select multiple objects.

That is the problem, I can't even select a curtain wall....hold ctrl...and select another wall


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 6:31:09 PM | Ctril and Shift not working

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Sorry but there are so many things you might be doing wrong and you don't tell us very much.

You say you were able to select the curtain wall but what?....  Does it just want to copy horizontally - uncheck constrain on the options bar.

or do you say you can't select the curtain wall at all?  Are you using design options?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 6:39:16 PM | Ctril and Shift not working

#6

jtebok


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 24, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


I said exactly what I meant if you read the first post, it doesnt even have to be windows;

the problem is I can't select multiple objects using the ctrl key


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 6:40:45 PM | Ctril and Shift not working

#7

jtebok


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 24, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


The other half of the problem is the constrain thing... but lets look at the ctrl thing first.

I know the constrain command


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 6:52:49 PM | Ctril and Shift not working

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I have worked with Revit for a long time and there are no issues with the software like you describe except for possible early release bugs.  We ask posters to tell us what Revit and what updates they have installed for a very good reason.  So.... answer these questions before we go any furthur.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Mouse Orbit not working?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 25, 2007 at 5:54:54 PM

2

Make-Shift RPC

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Jun 24, 2009 at 6:36:42 PM

1

Is it Possible to use CTRL or ALT or SHIFT in the Keyboard Shorcuts.txt?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 18, 2007 at 3:54:38 PM

1

3D rotate view with mouse

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 2, 2009 at 7:14:36 AM

1

Exported model patterns shift in DWG

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 1, 2012 at 7:44:41 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1653664

Objects:

22109

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4046

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights