RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

396 Users Online (223 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 21, 2006 at 4:41:01 PM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#1

jws


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 6, 2004
9 Posts
No Rating


Is it possible to change the level elevations without moving the model up or down?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 21, 2006 at 5:16:29 PM | RE: Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#2

jws


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 6, 2004
9 Posts
No Rating


nevermind I figured it out. Thanks anyway

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 12, 2007 at 11:36:48 AM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#3

JayDee08


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2006
9 Posts
No Rating


Then what it is ? I currently have a similar issue. Trying to chage system from site level = 0 to Ground floor = 100'-0" !


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 18, 2007 at 8:42:21 PM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#4

DLicata


active
DLicata Avatar

Joined: Mon, Apr 2, 2007
278 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Yeah, if you could tell us how you did this it could prove to be very helpful.

-----------------------------------

 LHAA

 Licata Hansen Associates Architecture

Reno, NV USA

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 18, 2007 at 9:21:39 PM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#5

JayDee08


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2006
9 Posts
No Rating


BTW I found how to do it in another thread. Here is my explanation:

1 - Position yourself in an elevation;

2 - Determine what is the difference between your base floor (ground floor in my case) and the desired level (let's say from 0'-0" to 100'-0" it is 100'-0"Winking.

3 - Select your base floor level head and open the properties for it.

3.1 Edit the type and make sure the "Elevation Base" constraint is set to "shared" (you should only have two choices: "project" or shared"Winking.

4 - From the "Tools" drop down menu, select "Project Position / Orientation" and "Relocate this project".

4.1 - Pick a point in your workspace, give it a direction (let's say up, in my case) and enter the difference (you found out at step 2) , on the keyboard;

 4.2 Hit "Enter" and wait...

4.3 Zoom to fit (ZF)

4.4 - Tadaa !

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 18, 2007 at 9:26:16 PM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#6

JayDee08


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2006
9 Posts
No Rating


And don't mind about the smilies in the above text, I have no clue about how to get rid of them !

:-)


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 18, 2007 at 9:44:52 PM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#7

DLicata


active
DLicata Avatar

Joined: Mon, Apr 2, 2007
278 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


HAHA ok thanks!

-----------------------------------

 LHAA

 Licata Hansen Associates Architecture

Reno, NV USA

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 11, 2007 at 10:50:00 PM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#8

dinah


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 10, 2007
2 Posts
No Rating


We have several buildings in one file that are currently on the same level. One building needs to be moved to a different level. How can we move just that building up a level and not the entire project? Each building is on a different workset and we are using 2008. Any help will be appreciated.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 12, 2007 at 1:19:53 PM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#9

JayDee08


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2006
9 Posts
No Rating


Theoricaly, if everything is linked together with various constraints, within your particular building, you could just change the relative elevation of one of the level bubble in elevation view and it should do it. Chances are it's not done 100% and you'll end up with several errors within the building model. But ,if you are confident and equipped with a powerfull computer, you may try it on a copy of your file (not to mess with your original, just in case).

Another mean would be to save the particular building in a separate file (erase everything but the building and save as a separate file) , do the tricks I mentioned in my May post and re-insert it at the desisred point in you original drawing. Not a purist method, but it should do it.

Hope this help. (did I mentioned I never had to try it ?) Please re-post if it worked or if you found a better way.

J.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 13, 2007 at 3:21:06 PM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#10

dinah


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 10, 2007
2 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for the advise. I didn't see how I could change the elevation level though without moving all the buildings up to that new level. I ended up creating the new desired level, highlighting the entire bldg in the model, filtering out all but the walls and moving them up to the new level through properties. Then, using the elevations, I moved whatever items did not move with the walls. I used the filter because Revit would not allow me to move everything highlighted at once. It took a little bit of clean up but it worked.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 4, 2012 at 10:58:03 PM | Changing Level Elevations without moving the Model?

#11

sammyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 18, 2012
1 Posts
No Rating


that was a hell of alot easier than how my teacher showed us how to do it. thank you very much


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 29, 2015 at 6:53:58 PM

8

Changing model constraints from one level to another

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 12, 2015 at 8:29:36 PM

4

Change Elevations in to the project.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 9, 2018 at 3:30:40 PM

2

Changing level height values while keeping building in place? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 13, 2015 at 6:47:48 AM

18

Level Tags on Elevations keep moving

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 5, 2008 at 7:13:37 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1531746

Objects:

21320

Forum Posts:

151323

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9238

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights