RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

206 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Plan / Section question ???

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jan 6, 2014 at 8:00:04 PM | Plan / Section question ???

#1

kathey1


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 12, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


 

If I delete a plan view and I have section associated with that view is there a way that I can still keep the sections within that view ?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 6, 2014 at 8:08:46 PM | Plan / Section question ???

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 43 Votes


If you delete a plan view how would you keep the section in that view? The view is deleted so therefore there is no place for the section.  If the section appears in another view it will not get deleted.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 6, 2014 at 10:33:56 PM | Plan / Section question ???

#3

kathey1


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 12, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


right ok lets say im in a plan view and i want to do a stair drawing and i need a part of the plan where the stairs are, do i duplicate a copy of the plan view or do i do a callout of that area ?

 



Edited on: Mon, Jan 6, 2014 at 4:34:40 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 12:01:35 AM | Plan / Section question ???

#4

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Deleting a plan view will not delete any of the section views. You won't see the section callouts if they aren't visible in any other plans, but you can still find the section views in the project browser.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 1:26:29 PM | Plan / Section question ???

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


You can duplicate a plan, create a new plan or you can use a call-out - your choice.  I prefer the callout so that the bubble directs the user to the view.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 at 9:07:51 AM | Plan / Section question ???

#6

kathey1


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 12, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


I have a scenario; I’ve been told that it is good  practice to not have too many levels (the only levels you should use is your main floor levels) So what is the best practice to do when you have a staircore and you have a stair half landing between floor levels.

Should I:

1.        Duplicate a floor level and change its view depth ?

2.       Add a new level for that half landing ?

I hope you understand what I mean

Cheers


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 at 1:35:53 PM | Plan / Section question ???

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


We don't have a separate plan for the landing.  It is shown in our floor plan for the main level.  The mid landing is not a level and not a floor - it is part of the stair.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 at 3:55:42 PM | Plan / Section question ???

#8

kathey1


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 12, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


but the half landing still needs supporting with steel so i will have to show it somewhere on a drawing. So im guessing the best practice is to duplicate a level and amend its view depth ?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 at 4:18:30 PM | Plan / Section question ???

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


In any plan view, you can add a PLAN REGION that allows you to control the VP in that area.  Read your HELP on plan regions.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 at 7:31:42 PM | Plan / Section question ???

#10

kathey1


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 12, 2012
8 Posts
No Rating


Yea I've used plan regions a lot I'm just looking at what is the best practice. I used to use callouts for the half landings but I'm gonna start duplicating floor plans and with plan regions. Thanx

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Section tag missing on plan but section still exists

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 22, 2016 at 8:58:15 PM

9

Cut Pattern in Plan vs Section

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Aug 25, 2009 at 1:47:59 PM

7

Wall Section won't show in both plan and building section

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 29, 2014 at 12:52:25 PM

1

Section Line in Extends Beyond Plan (2009)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Sep 21, 2008 at 4:30:18 PM

1

plan detail callout in section

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 29, 2013 at 5:48:11 PM

13

Site Stats

Members:

1469379

Objects:

20536

Forum Posts:

150618

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3918

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights