RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

172 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 1:13:45 AM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#1

DaveB440


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 29, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


Hi everyone,

  When we receive an architectural update should the new updated link be named the same as the old overwriteen outdated link or should a new name be given to the updated link ?   Will changing the name of the updated link cause havoc with my custom visibilty settings ?   Just curious with what others do.

Thanks.   David


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 1:23:40 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


We save the old link with a date and use the new link with the same name as the old use to be.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 1:46:27 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Revit allows you to change the name of the link at any time.  So, we always move the linked file from the FTP to a sub-folder under or Revit file and name the file with a dated name.  Then we use the reload from function.  That allows us to always see the date of the linked file while in Revit and the history files are still there until we delete them.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 6:02:01 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#4

DaveB440


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 29, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


So, when i have customized my visibility settings in the old linked file, will I lose those custom settings in the new linked file ?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 6:22:42 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


If you customized the linked file << THAT IS BAD... then of course, you will loose those settings.   Why would you do that?  You never alter the link.  Instead, use your VG settings / revit links to control the file.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 7:12:33 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#6

DaveB440


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 29, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


I worded that incorrectly.  We do edit the VG settings in our revit file and not the link itself, but for some reason after we upload the new link some of the VG settings revert back as if no custom setting were done at all.  Example is plumbing fixtures in our VG is  set to 100% transparency, but upload the new link and the transparency setting is gone back to Zero. Any suggestions to why this is happening ?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 7:44:25 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Where are you making this transparency setting?  Provide screen shots.

I prefer to control all linked models independend of my model settings.  VG / Revit Links / custom <NOT BY HOST VIEW>


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 9:59:20 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#8

DaveB440


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 29, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


In our model i go to VG / REVIT LINKS / CUSTOM / MODEL CATAGORIES / CUSTOM  then click Plumbing Fixtures and its the 3 column in  Transparency override.  I think i might know whats missing  BASIC  /  LINKED VIEW ?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 10:07:27 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


No - I don't think you want to use a linked view.  The VG controls should work no matter how the file is loaded.

 

Could you have a fixture in the same place?

Could this be a graphics card issue or an update issue?  You don't say what Revit or what updates you have installed.  This has become more important in the last few releases.

 

If you restart Revit, does it change anything?  Pay attention to one item in one view that is not shown correctly.  Make sure the VG settings are right too.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 10:46:20 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#10

DaveB440


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 29, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


No fixture in the same place, just the link supplied fixture from the architect.

Revit Mep 2013 and we are good about keeping up with updates.

Graphics card AMD OR ATI FIREPRO V5800

UPDATE RELEASE 3

I usually shut it all down at lunch and restart right after lunch.  Restarts dont change anything.

Everything works well until we get an updated architectural model.  Our revit manager changes the link name from project1 to project2 and reloads the link.  I check the plumbing views and my VG setting for that link project1 are no longer the same.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 2:16:34 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Either there is something you have not told me about your process or something has corrupted your system.  Reload from will not affect VG settings.  Lets check out your process again:

  1. You are not removing the old file and linking in the new file, are you?  That would explain your problem.  Just go to the manage links, pick the file and then select 'reload from' and pick the new file.
  2. You say you are on 2013.  Do you understand the change they made on view templates in 2013?  The new process in 2013 was bad but they have fixed that in 2014.  If you have a view template assigned, then that is applied automatically and if that template is set to control VG, the view will change accordingly.  So make your changes in the template.

If neither of the above are your problem, then you need to talk with Autodesk.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 3:48:33 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#12

DaveB440


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 29, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your help.  I think we are closer to solving this.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 7:45:37 PM | Naming of Architectural Link in Revit Mep

#13

dirtycarl


active
dirtycarl Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 17, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


thanks for the help


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

ARCHITECTURAL LINK PROBLEMS

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 11, 2009 at 8:51:04 PM

7

Should I Link Architectural in MEP, or...?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 20, 2010 at 5:35:51 PM

6

Editing an MEP Model and linking with Architectural Model

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Jan 22, 2015 at 4:49:31 PM

2

Lights in MEP or Achitecture

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 28, 2011 at 8:01:38 AM

4

What to do the MEP when the rest of the architectural firm swithes to Revit?

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Jul 20, 2007 at 1:55:55 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1551496

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151403

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.3543

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights