RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

248 Users Online (92 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Cutting Elemnets in Details

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Dec 16, 2013 at 10:55:37 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#1

MongooseST1


active
MongooseST1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2007
77 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I am assembling a detail from a callout at a building section. I have placed a 2x12 rafter that needs to be cut at the facia. I have tried using the cut command in MODIFY and MASKING REGION but they don't work and appear to be for walls, floors and similiar assemblies. I have included a screenshot...I am using REVIT 2014

 

Thanks in advance



Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 1:04:10 AM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#2

ronmalit


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 30, 2012
113 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Hi 

when the MASKING REGION wont work, i will then use FILLED REGION> white fill..

how about LINEWORK tool?


-----------------------------------

** dont be mad, i dont have much... i am homeless

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 1:40:43 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


What kind of element is that?  If it is a detail element, then it will not cut and the linework tool will not work either.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 12:26:01 AM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#4

MongooseST1


active
MongooseST1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2007
77 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


It is a detail element. There has to be an easier way to properly detail in Revit...especially trimming this rafter like any contractor  would with a saw...............any suggestions WWhub?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 2:34:43 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


This is a model view, correct?  I would have probably modeled this with the rafter in the roof thickness as a layer and use an in-place void sweep to cut the roof edge correctly for 3D views.  Then in a model detail view, I would use the edit cut profile tool to modify the yayers of the roof.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 7:11:11 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#6

MongooseST1


active
MongooseST1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2007
77 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


This is a model view, correct? Yes it is. I would have probably modeled this with the rafter in the roof thickness as a layer and use an in-place void sweep to cut the roof edge correctly for 3D views.  Not quite understanding.....I have made a roof in my Proeprties box with all the necessary plywood, insualtion and rafter thicknesses. The result is a roof over 1 foot thick. When I go an use ther cut profile ( geometry) in the MODIFY tab noting happens and it is askign for "family instance to cut with??" I have tried  but nothing......We were taught in training to use the Deatils Components over the model deatil to enhance and provide th necessary detail..........it Then in a model detail view, I would use the edit cut profile tool to modify the yayers of the roof

You have stated in prior posts about void sweeps. You seem to use this alot but I have no clue on how to apply them but I am willing to learn....Do you have an example?

Thanks WWHUB


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 8:12:48 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I don't agree with the process you were taught.  I prefer to use as much of the model as I can so I typically don't replace any of the elements in floors, roofs or walls.  Instead I model as close as I can then use the edit cut profile tool in detail views.  Here is what my roof like yours would have been.  (NOTE: no soffit has been added - tyhat too would have been modeled as well as the roof edge trim.

 

  1. Void sweep along roof edge.  
  2. ADding a cut profile to the model - roof rafter.
  3. The finished - all model detail waiting for either some added detail components or model elements


Attached Images

127093_Void_sweep.PNG127093_Cut_profile.PNG127093_Cut.PNG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 9:56:48 AM | Family creation issue

#8

thnikmore


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 19, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


When i load a family revit giving message (While loading Type '1', parameter 'L': Enter a value or a formula starting with '='.)

please tell me why this message coming where i found mistake. I created just three parameters only L,W,H

In txt file i created

, L##other##milliemeter, H##other##millimeter1, 500x500, 10002, 1000x1000, 25003, 2000x2000, 3500


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 3:45:10 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Please create a new thread for this instead of tagging onto this one.  Click on forums, pick revit building / technical support then start new thread.

 

Please state what family you are trying to load.  If not a stock family, then you may have to post the family as well.

Also - what Revit issue?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 9:46:31 PM | WWHub

#10

MongooseST1


active
MongooseST1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2007
77 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Quoting WWHub from 2013-12-18 14:12:48

"

I don't agree with the process you were taught.  I prefer to use as much of the model as I can so I typically don't replace any of the elements in floors, roofs or walls.  Instead I model as close as I can then use the edit cut profile tool in detail views.  Here is what my roof like yours would have been.  (NOTE: no soffit has been added - tyhat too would have been modeled as well as the roof edge trim.

 

  1. Void sweep along roof edge.  
  2. ADding a cut profile to the model - roof rafter.
  3. The finished - all model detail waiting for either some added detail components or model elements

"

Your way sounds better for sure, since I too have heartburn over duplication ( something that runs contrary to BIM) in any event I will endavor to creat a void sweep at the roofs edge to replicate the structural components of the rafter.

SO I assume the Void Sweep would be swept along the drip line of each roof slope....Yes?

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 9:57:45 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Yes, to create your roof edge in the model, I would run that sweep along all edges that need it.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 27, 2013 at 8:43:12 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#12

MongooseST1


active
MongooseST1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2007
77 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Ok. I have tried several times to duplicate the enclosed detail along the roof edge to,  as you say, " model as close as I can then use the edit cut profile tool in detail views"  So how does one set up the profile of this detail and components to sweep each one along the roof edge to eliminate alot of the detail drawing later on?

Thanks!



Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 30, 2013 at 3:41:14 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


You don't model hidden elements.



Attached Images

127273_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 30, 2013 at 4:37:24 PM | Cutting Elemnets in Details

#14

MongooseST1


active
MongooseST1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2007
77 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Sometimes it helps to have a redlined dwg.....it's clear..........Thank You!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

query with elevation details

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Dec 1, 2008 at 11:12:35 AM

3

Shared Details

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 17, 2008 at 3:35:49 PM

2

Typical Details

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Aug 28, 2014 at 12:54:38 PM

1

Ignore cutting plane?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 12, 2005 at 1:28:21 AM

1

Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 30, 2011 at 10:51:51 PM

10

Site Stats

Members:

1651409

Objects:

22098

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2595

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights