RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

148 Users Online (46 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Dec 16, 2013 at 7:49:47 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#1

mlav


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm using Revit 2014.  I imported my topo from a CAD file.  It is 2'6" off where it is supposed to be when compared to the site plan.  What's really strange is that if I look at it in the site plan view it is 2'-6" off, but when I go to the Section, it is not off.  For example, in the site plan a point at the front of my building pad is 29'-7", but when I go into the section this same point is now 32'-1" according to the level.  Does this have something to do with project level vs survey level - and how can I reconcile this?  I've attached a snap of it in sp and section for refernce.  



Attached Images

126996_Section_32.JPG126996_Site.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 1:19:21 AM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#2

ronmalit


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 30, 2012
113 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


why do you compare 2 different elements

on your site plan, you have selected a topo point. elev 29'7"

on your section, the one selected a level MAIN FLOOR 32'1"



Edited on: Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 3:45:04 AM

-----------------------------------

** dont be mad, i dont have much... i am homeless

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 2:49:49 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#3

mlav


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


@ ronmalit - What's with the overuse of punctuation?  If you think I'm not understanding the difference between Levels in Revit and topo points - why not enlighten me?  

The point is that if you take the exact same spot - it reads at a different elevation above seal level in section than it does on the topo map.  That makes no sense to me unless the topo map has a different base than the elevation.   


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 3:15:35 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


mlav,

 

There are some variables in Revit which you have not addressed.  Levels and spot elevations can be referenced to different base points and you don't tell us what you are using.  You can set a level to any project elevation you want to.  When we drafted, we often set the first floor line to be el 100.00'.  Spot elevations can also be set to project or survey or related to the level. 

So ... what are your settings for levels and the spots that you have posted?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 3:51:44 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#5

mlav


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


@WWHub - The problem is that I don't know what base they're set to.  The levels were set up in a template and I input the elevation above sea level that I wanted them to be.  The topo I imported a CAD file, picked center to center and don't recall being asked a base point.  So it seems the survey base is 2.5' lower than the project base.  How do I make them the same?  

Note. When I select a level and go to Edit Type and switch between project base point and survey point under Elevation base - the level doesn't change at all.  


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 4:42:46 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


Start by watching this video (with sound). 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BigvY4LT-RI

You say you imported a topo that was a CAD file.  I don't understand, did you create a topo in Revit from a CAD import?  There is a difference.  If you imported some sort of solid, that could be at different elevations.... don't know what you did.

 

On your site image, we can't see what point you picked that is the 29'-7" elevation.  Interior points at slabs will still show their original elevation.

 

Put some spot elevations on that section view.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 5:27:01 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#7

mlav


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


@WWHub.  I'll watch the video but in the meantime wanted to answer your questions.  Yes I created a topo from A CAD file. a CAD survey done by an engineer.  Attached here is the section and site plan with spot elevations.  You can see on the site plan where it says that that the blue highlighted topo point is 29' 7" but the spot elevation says 32'-1"   This shows the discrepancy I'm having trouble with.  



Attached Images

127035_Section_with_spot_elevs.JPG127035_Site_with_spot_elevs.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 6:19:06 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


The section spot elevation is on the level line, not the topo.  In addition, you don't say what the reference is for your spot.

 

Turn off the levels, if the spot goes away, then it was to the level.  Now place a spot to the topo .... and show us your spot settings.



Edited on: Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 12:20:30 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 7:04:20 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#9

mlav


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


@WWHub - The video you recommended was very helpful, I feel like I have a better understanding of project vs. survey coordinates but I still can't figure out how to solve my problem.  See attached.  I have made 2 spot elevations - one from the Survey pt and one from the Project point as indicated. Note that they are the same because the survey and project point are aligned in elevation.  However, my topo map - contour labels shown here read 2'-6" lower than both my survey and project point.  Do you know how I can fix this?  If I move the whole topography - it will not be accurate in my section.  



Attached Images

127041_Site_with_spot_elevs_projsurvey.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 7:27:44 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#10

mlav


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


@WWHub - I found this info in this forum that sort of solved my problem :

"Create a sea level elevation and set it the correct distance below the first floor level. Select the site label contours - inside the type properties set to relative. Now, in the instance properties box under "other" the Relative Base dialogue should be active- set this to the sea level elevation you made. All your site contour labels should now change." 

Now my contour labels come out correctly related to the spot elevations and sections, but when I go into the topo to edit the surface, the points are still 2.5' below what the contour label and spot elevations read.  Any ideas?  


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 7:40:00 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


Did you set your project point and your survey point at the same place in elevation view?  I don't think you have.  Pay attention to that process in the video.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 7:47:55 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#12

mlav


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I have since done that - so that the survey and project spot elevations are the same (sorry the image I sent earlier they were not aligned) - and I've gotten the contour labels to come out correctly per that last instruction I sent, but still when I go into the topo surface to edit it, it does not match survey pt. project pt, or contour labels - it is 2.5' off.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 8:07:37 PM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


In the last view you showed, the survey point matched the contour line.  Only the project was off which you say you have corrected.   I don't know how all of this messing around may have messed with your points in the surface.  It should not have.  Maybe a new topo is in order


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 10:05:00 AM | level elevation doesn't match elev point in topo / site plan

#14

ronmalit


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 30, 2012
113 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


i have edited my initial post and sorry for the incovinienced that has caused u

 

i, most of the time, import cad points and create a topo from it.

so if you dont mind, ill share how i normally do it:

-considering my project internal, PBP, SP are all aligned (attached is a copy of my bible, page 15).

-i will link the cad. i will take note of one point as a reference.. lets say in autocad that point reads 106780

-after linking cad. i will create the topo. i will then edit the surface and then select the same point in revit. lets say for example it reads 106000.

-i will then select the cad and the created topo and navigate to an elevation view.. still selected, i will move them 780. to set them both in correct and desired level.



-----------------------------------

** dont be mad, i dont have much... i am homeless

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Spot Elevation vs. Level elevation

General Discussion >> Revit ROI

Thu, Feb 15, 2018 at 12:13:20 AM

2

Topography Elevation from Project Base and Survey Point is Incorrect

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 30, 2015 at 4:32:24 AM

9

Project level vs. site topography RAC 2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 29, 2008 at 8:54:56 PM

2

Changing Level 1 to match site information

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 7, 2010 at 12:14:16 PM

5

Topo elevation reports different value than actual location on z-axis in model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 26, 2018 at 4:47:41 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1839437

Objects:

22618

Forum Posts:

152041

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3210

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights