RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

201 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Masking only one viewport?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 4:04:13 PM | Masking only one viewport?

#1

kathleenmep


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 5, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I've got a drawing set up with a layout taking up the majority of the page, then some standard details in the lower corner.

The grid lines and some non essential site details are showing in the corner and showing in amongst the details. The building is L-shaped at this level, but not at the levels above so I can't just move the grid lines back since I' assuming that will move them on all higher levels? I haven't been able to try at the moment, the architects model is locked for editing.

I've tried lots of the tips and tricks I've found searching but nothing is working for this problem.

First I tried a masking region in the plan view, but this didn't hide the gridlines which are the biggest problem. I used 'masking text' set to just off white to cover the grid lines, and I tried setting up a drafting view with a masking region I could drag over the top.

The problem is that anything that covers the bits I don't want to see on the plan is also hiding the lines on the standard detail view above it.

Any other work arounds I can try?

(Revit MEP 2013)


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 4:12:28 PM | Masking only one viewport?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


All Grid lines and level lines have a 2D/3D switch.  Change to 2D and any adjustments will only be in that view.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 4:14:30 PM | Masking only one viewport?

#3

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Also, there is a lock icon at the end of your gridlines, unlocking it will allow you to adjust the 2D/3D extents of the grid independent of the others.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 4:21:15 PM | Masking only one viewport?

#4

kathleenmep


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 5, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Great thanks I'll get permission to edit the architects model and move the gridlines back to the building outline, I wasn't sure if it would move them all. One problem taken care of!

 

As for hiding the other bits on bobs on the plan in that area, some of the items have been set up as walls, floors etc so I can't just switch them off in the visibility graphics without affecting the rest of the building, I need to mask them somehow. So I still have the same issue with the masking region masking the lines in the other viewport.  Any ideas?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 4:43:04 PM | Masking only one viewport?

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


Wow, wait a minute. 

What do you mean ".... I'll get permission to edit the architects model and move the gridlines back to the building outline..." ?

 

If this is not your model but is a linked in model, then copy monitor the grids so that you can control them.  Don't modify the linked file.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 8:44:10 PM | Masking only one viewport?

#6

Johnzo142


active

Joined: Fri, May 8, 2009
47 Posts
No Rating


"As for hiding the other bits on bobs on the plan in that area, some of the items have been set up as walls, floors etc so I can't just switch them off in the visibility graphics without affecting the rest of the building, I need to mask them somehow. So I still have the same issue with the masking region masking the lines in the other viewport.  Any ideas?"

 

Hover over the element in the linked file you wish not to see, hit tab until it is highlighted then right click and hide in view / element. This allows you to hide individual elements without turning off the entire category in visibility graphics.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 13, 2013 at 8:41:51 AM | Masking only one viewport?

#7

kathleenmep


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 5, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


That did the trick, thanks guys!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Draw Order of Viewport on a sheet

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 16, 2009 at 10:35:58 PM

2

viewport annotation box

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 2, 2014 at 1:49:40 PM

7

Is their a way to change the Viewport referencing?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 21, 2016 at 8:16:25 PM

3

Viewport Text

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Mar 10, 2016 at 4:00:08 AM

3

Viewport textbox resizing? :S

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Oct 21, 2010 at 6:00:44 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1469387

Objects:

20536

Forum Posts:

150619

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0754

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights