RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

209 Users Online (93 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> error in creating new families

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Feb 17, 2006 at 5:48:57 PM | error in creating new families

#1

cima


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 24, 2005
16 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm creating families for my first proyect, plumbing fixtures, some accesory, etc, importing dwg 3d models (from different sources). I follow the tutorial "How to grow your family: ". The problem I have is that when in the model, after applyng materials to the new family, it appears all white. Any help please??

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 21, 2006 at 4:42:42 AM | RE: error in creating new families

#2

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


had a look at your family and i think you are missing this step: "Go to 'settings', 'object styles', then the 'imported objects' tab. Here we will tell revit to assign materials to those AutoCAD layers we created earlier. To do this, simply select the layer name under the 'category' heading, then select the adjacent material under the 'material' tab. Now you should be in the material editor and the final straight." there are no materials assigns to your family... HTH

-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 22, 2006 at 12:06:30 AM | RE: error in creating new families

#3

cima


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 24, 2005
16 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


i was adding material parameters in the family types.... I followed your instructions, but still with grey elements.... I attach it again, no idea where is the mistake....

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 22, 2006 at 2:23:23 AM | RE: error in creating new families

#4

SeaWasp


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 15, 2004
3 Posts
No Rating


cima.. Do exactly as eldados suggested. I think that some of your imported Autocad entities are on other layers than what you may suspect. Assign the material for all the imported layers, and I think then you should get the result you need. I had to add a material to layers 0 & defpoints from within your model. Good Luck.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 22, 2006 at 9:28:05 AM | RE: error in creating new families

#5

cima


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 24, 2005
16 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I also though that, also if the object is in the correct layer. I assigned the same material to all imported layers, and it still render gray, pale gray!!!

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Serious Error when creating Level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 16, 2008 at 11:04:05 PM

2

Revit families/symbols error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 7, 2008 at 2:53:31 PM

2

error & warning messages

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Fri, Oct 27, 2006 at 9:01:28 PM

0

Is there any good "Creating Families" tutorial?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Jul 2, 2009 at 8:26:15 PM

5

Revit 2010 and Revit 2009 families error

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 21, 2009 at 6:35:48 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1390652

Objects:

20298

Forum Posts:

150343

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7399

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights