RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

175 Users Online (76 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> My railings doesn't go with my stairs

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 2:39:12 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#1

archjahz


active
archjahz Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

I am trying to make my first house design using revit but I am having problem with my stairs. I modified it to look like the image i attached but for some reason, the default railings & stringer does not go along the slope of my stairs. Before I modified it, the railings were okay.. the problem only starts when I begin to modify the boundaries and risers. 

 

Please help. Thank you so much.



Attached Images

126465_st02.PNG126465_st01.PNG

-----------------------------------

Archidea

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 2:41:36 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


In order for a railing to be hosted, the location line (sketch) must be over the host.  I suspect that this is your promblem.  Move the line over the stair.  If it ist still not sloped, then pick the railing and then pick select host and pick the stair.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 2:50:52 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#3

archjahz


active
archjahz Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi, thank you... i tried your suggestions, but it still didn't work Sad instead, the railing went above my stairs... i was sketching this on ground floor level (where my stairs' first step starts)..



Attached Images

126467_st03.PNG

-----------------------------------

Archidea

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 2:52:38 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


You did not follow my advice.

Show us an image that shows the railing sketch. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 3:06:02 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#5

archjahz


active
archjahz Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


here it is. i sketched it on top of the stairs. i also selected "set host" and clicked the stairs. After that, i picked the railing segments one by one, clicked "set host" and selected the stairs after selecting each of the segments....



Attached Images

126469_st04.PNG

-----------------------------------

Archidea

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 3:11:03 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


Try moving your sketch lines to the center of the stringer, they are off of it right now.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 3:25:40 PM | teafoe5

#7

archjahz


active
archjahz Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting teafoe5 from 2013-12-02 09:11:03

"

Try moving your sketch lines to the center of the stringer, they are off of it right now.

"

Hi teafoe5, the stringer itself doesn't go with the stairs.. (attached img)

nevertheless, i still tried your suggestion. the stringer thickness is 50.8 by default so i offset my railings by 25.4 to make sure its on the center of the stringer as u suggested but I still came up with the railing hovering on top... 



Attached Images

126472_st05.PNG126472_st07.PNG

-----------------------------------

Archidea

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 4:00:06 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


"...the stringer itself doesn't go with the stairs.."  ???? Explain.  Why not?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 4:15:00 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


BTW - Move the railing sketch to the center of all stair runs and you will see that it works when it is over the host.  Obviously, it is not over the host.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 4:43:04 PM | WWHub

#10

archjahz


active
archjahz Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2013-12-02 10:00:06

"

"...the stringer itself doesn't go with the stairs.."  ???? Explain.  Why not?

"

 

I don't know why. The stringer is in its right place if I don't modify the stairs. It stays on the ground after modifying the sketch. I didnt change the default settings of the stairs & its stringer.

And btw, I tried placing the railing segments over & in the middle of the stairs. It still doesn't work. I think I perfectly understood what you want me to do. Please see attached image to see how I've placed my railing to test your suggestion. 

Thanks

 



Attached Images

126478_st08.PNG

-----------------------------------

Archidea

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 4:57:29 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#11

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


Do a save as and erase everthing but your stairs out and upload the file.  I'm assuming the problem is how you edited your stairs profile.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 5:09:00 PM | teafoe5

#12

archjahz


active
archjahz Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting teafoe5 from 2013-12-02 10:57:29

"

Do a save as and erase everthing but your stairs out and upload the file.  I'm assuming the problem is how you edited your stairs profile.

"

Here's the file... 

thanks in advance...


-----------------------------------

Archidea

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 5:09:12 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#13

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


No file attached.  Make sure you purge everything out, there is a 2Mb limit for uploads.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 5:17:19 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#14

archjahz


active
archjahz Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I see. I'm sorry. Here it is.



Attached Files

-----------------------------------

Archidea

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 5:45:03 PM | My railings doesn't go with my stairs

#15

archjahz


active
archjahz Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I think I have already figured out where it went wrong. When I sketched a part of the stair boundary around the wall, the stringer & railings didn't go with the stairs treads, but when i edited it as shown in the image, everything went back to normal...



Attached Images

126487_st09.PNG

-----------------------------------

Archidea

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Attaching railings to stairs?

Community >> The Studio

Wed, May 24, 2006 at 6:48:05 AM

2

Problems attaching railings to stairs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 4:49:14 PM

4

Railings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 1, 2005 at 12:23:30 AM

2

Detailing/dimensioning stairs and railings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 16, 2007 at 7:14:13 PM

1

Attaching railings to precast stairs [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 17, 2015 at 12:37:53 AM

15

Site Stats

Members:

1840448

Objects:

22618

Forum Posts:

152040

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6534

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights