RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

284 Users Online (139 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> 2D diffuser transparency

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Nov 26, 2013 at 4:34:44 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#1

ledgewood33


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 28, 2010
34 Posts
No Rating


I am using Revit 2013 and I am placing the 2D diffuser that came with the program (out-of-the-box) and when I place the diffuser in my RCP on ceiling with material (gyp. board pattern) the diffuser seems to be transparent. when I edit the family I am aware that it is only 2D line work so I tried placing a masking region in the family. I load back into the project and it still shows trasparent. is there a step i am missing while placing the masking region or is there another way to have the diffuser show non-transparent?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 3, 2014 at 12:04:15 AM | 2D diffuser transparency

#2

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


I thought all the OOTB diffusers where 3d / 2d like most other families ? Your family may not be OOTB ?

 

Please provide a screen shot of what you are seeing exactly.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 5:53:52 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#3

ledgewood33


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 28, 2010
34 Posts
No Rating


I even opened a new project file and placed a ceiling then loaded the diffuser family from the default family location. then place the diffuser family.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 6:07:53 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#4

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Do you have all of the updates installed for your Revit version?


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 6:17:10 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


I'd still like to see a screen shot. If its transparent, on drywall, in a ceiling plan what exactly is it showing ??

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 7:39:29 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#6

ledgewood33


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 28, 2010
34 Posts
No Rating


I believe I attached a screen shot of what I was talking about.

as for the updates, I am not sure. whats the best way for me to check for latested updates?



Attached Images

127487_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 8:44:10 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#7

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Thanks . . . . I don't see an attachment from your previous posts. I'll check it out . . . . How about another screen capture of a  Section that cuts right thru the difuser.

 

You can get the updates here:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334435&linkID=9273944

 


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 8:49:09 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


 

On your revit screen, there is a pull down beside the question mark on the right.  Goto about - that will tell you wahat build and what updates have been installed.  I believe 2013 has 3 updates that must be installed in order.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 10:43:08 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#9

ledgewood33


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 28, 2010
34 Posts
No Rating


I go to the about section and in the upper right hand corner it says Update Release 3. so I should be current.

I am going to try and attach the actual diffuser family.



This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 10:48:59 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#10

ledgewood33


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 28, 2010
34 Posts
No Rating


I have attached screen shots of the section and rcp



Attached Images

127495_rcp.PNG127495_section.PNG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 11:28:21 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#11

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


So this is typical REVIT family visibility graphics.

 

The 'Solid Blend' that forms the physical diffuser is actually turned 'Off' when the family is viewed in a plan view and 2d linework is turned on. This is regular REVIT family behaviour and done so to speed the drawing up by 'hiding' the 3d aspect of the family in certain views.

 

To fix this just open the diffuser family, then click on the solid blend (not the linework) then on the properties click the "Visibility Graphics Overrides" button and set Plan/RCP "On". Then reload the family into the project.

 

See attached before and after image.



Attached Images

127499_DIFUSER-TRANSPARENT.PNG

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 8, 2014 at 2:18:12 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#12

ledgewood33


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 28, 2010
34 Posts
No Rating


in the attached image that you provided, is this from the rfa that I provided earlier? when I open the out-of-the-box diffuser family it seems to be only 2D line work.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 8, 2014 at 2:31:36 PM | 2D diffuser transparency

#13

ledgewood33


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 28, 2010
34 Posts
No Rating


it looks as though the diffuser in your attached image is from Revit MEP? so I downloaded the diffuser from Revit MEP and followed the steps you suggested and I get same result as I did before.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Linear Air Diffuser

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 11, 2016 at 5:58:53 AM

3

Diffuser

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, May 30, 2012 at 1:24:46 AM

2

REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 21, 2010 at 6:46:22 PM

7

Diffuser

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, Sep 7, 2016 at 10:13:42 PM

1

Locking MEP Elements

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, May 26, 2011 at 8:11:09 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1595265

Objects:

21921

Forum Posts:

151540

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 17.3103

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights