RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

200 Users Online (45 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 6:57:57 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#1

gbiallas5728


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


One of my users asked me why the revisions aren't showing up in the revision schedule in the title block of a project made with our new 2014 template. After much searching I discovered that the Revisions on Sheet dialog box in our template is broken. The problem is that I have no idea how to fix it. The attached images show how it is supposed to work (right.png) and what we're getting (wrong.png).The title block is just about the only thing I didn't make from scratch when making the new template but I don't think it's an issue with the family because if I insert it into the default Architectural template it works fine. What the heck is going on here?



Attached Images

125978_right.PNG125978_wrong.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 7:47:42 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Are there clouds on your sheet?  If not - then no revisions. 

Within the project, goto the manage tab / additional settings / sheet issues - revisions and look at your settings.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 8:00:34 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#3

gbiallas5728


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


The problem is not with having or not having a revision cloud on the sheet. The purpose of this dialog box is to populate the revision schedule on the title block when there is no cloud on the sheet. When you go to the sheet properties and select the Edit... button by the Revisions on Sheet parameter it is supposed to pull up the dialog box with the check boxes. In my new template this dialog box is not showing the check boxes. So there is some error somewhere that has fouled up this parameter resulting in a broken dialog box and a revision schedule that will not populate.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 8:23:43 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


From your project, please post an image of the sheet issues/revisions that I pointed you to.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 8:44:16 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#5

gbiallas5728


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


Not that it will make a difference but here you go. As you can see this dialog box works fine. I can add revisions to my heart's content but they will not show up on the title block. By the way, you can reach this dialog box directly from the View tab on the ribbon. It's in the Sheet Composition section with the button labeled "Revisions".



Attached Images

125985_revisions.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 8:50:53 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


NOTE: Your numbering is by project!  If you want the sheet function to work, you have to set that to by sheet.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 9:08:56 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#7

gbiallas5728


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


Um, no actually I don't. The difference between numbering by project and numbering by sheet is simply a difference between having Revision 3 always be Revision 3 regardless of how many revisions are on a sheet or having it change to Revision 1, Revision 2, or Revision 3 depending on what revisions are on a given sheet. But that doesn't really matter because that has nothing to do with the problem presented in my original post. The revision schedule is not showing up due to a data corruption issue as indicated by the dialog box that is not formatted correctly. I need to know how to fix the data issue not how to number revisions.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 9:22:18 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Alright then - Don't change that setting and don't see what happens!!!!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 11:16:32 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#9

gbiallas5728


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


Ask and you shall receive. I hope you enjoy the slide show and that this clarifies the issue.



This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 1:40:26 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


I apologize.  We started using Revit a long time ago.  I do not know when this function was added but I missed it.  We only use revisions by project.  When I checked it out yesterday, it would only work when I set my revisions to by sheet.  I checked it both ways and that was the only way it worked. 

 

Reading your post, I tried it again today with a new project and it works as you say it should.  I then wondered if I had checked this on an upgraded project to see if that is why it did not work yesterday.... but it worked on that project as well.

 

Looking at your last image, try the following.

  1. Bring in the default autodesk sheet and see if it works there.  If so, then your sheet family may be corrupted.
  2. Does this function work on other systems.  If yes, then your program is corrupted.
  3. Starting a new project with your sheet, does it work?  Yes - then your project is corrupted.  Send to Autodesk or goto a backup.

Again - Sorry and thanks for teaching me something new.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 7:35:22 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#11

tbryanm


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 3, 2008
6 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


@ gbiallas5728 I feel your pain. I'm having the same issue. If you do find a solution (rather than conjecture and knowledge showcasing) can you please let me know. If I find one as well I will do the same.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 7:49:20 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#12

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


"rather than conjecture and knowledge showcasing"

 

 

A lot of the answers on here must be given based off of lack of information in the question so therefore is not always 100% accurate.  I on the otherhand like to showcase my knowledge by sharing it with other users as does WWHUB.  Writing this in your reply to this thread was inappropriate and a waste of my time to read.  If you want answers ask the questions, leave the rest at the door.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 9:07:37 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#13

tbryanm


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 3, 2008
6 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


gbiallas5728, Not sure how I arrived at this, or even if the genesis of your issue is the same. But my title block was created in R12 by the office IT/CAD "expert" (who has since departed) and the Revision Schedule used what appears to be lables. Not sure how that worked but it did and don't really care at this point. I created a new Revision Schedule by doing the following....

1. Open your title sheet .RFA file

2. Go to the VIEW tab and click on REVISION SCHEDULE 

3. Set your fields and click ok

4. Sort, Format and customize the appearance just as you would a door or wdw schedule and then draq/insert into the sheet.

As with just about every Revit task you will need to trial and error it to death to get it to fit within your titleblock. Only took me about an hour. Which is better than the 8hrs that it took to create a door tag.

 

@WWHub  and teafoe5

Note  the solution based response. No conjecture. No showcasing. Just a humble "here's what I did and it worked".

 



Edited on: Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 4:10:05 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 9:34:40 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


tbryanm,

Your way off base.  The question was not how to create a titleblock with a revision area.  Your process is correct for that and both teafoe and I did this many years ago.

 

So now did you answer the initial question - I don't think so. << Just the facts - no conjecture.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 9:45:51 PM | 2014 - Revisions on Sheet dialog box is broken

#15

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


tbryanm, I'm not understanding what your deal is, you have 4 posts that you have started/replied to and in 3 of 4 you are either bashing revit or bashing a user.. what is your point of being on RevitCity?  This is a learing website/teaching website and that is what we try to do as well as learn some new tricks along the way.  Your responses to questions and snide comments towards members are neither helpful or useful.  ""Just a humble "here's what I did and it worked"." There is nothing humble about your actions, ignorant seems to be a better word.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

revisions display issue [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Sep 15, 2014 at 8:23:27 PM

15

Revit Dialog Box When Opening

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 26, 2016 at 3:32:50 AM

2

Populate Revisions in Title Block

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 8:20:01 PM

3

2017- adding mutliple revisions to sheet index

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 15, 2019 at 8:29:19 PM

1

REVIT RENDER QUALITY SETTINGS DIALOG BOX

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 18, 2008 at 5:04:04 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1664512

Objects:

22111

Forum Posts:

151711

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.6127

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights