RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

188 Users Online (109 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Way around circular formuala references?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Nov 1, 2013 at 6:09:53 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#1

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I have a simple box Mass family that I'm using to space planning. A shared parameter of the family is TargetArea, which is the desired footprint area of the Mass (Width * Depth). When moving a handle controlling either the Width or Depth my Mass Tag updates the area. I'm thinking it would be nice to have the option to lock TargetArea so that the Mass adjusts itself after a stretch so that its area is always the same. E.g., if the width increases, the depth decreases. A LockTargetArea Yes/No toggle would control whether this behavior was active.

I tried a simple approach to implementing this and quickly ran into a circular reference error. E.g., for Width I have the forumal

=if(LockTargetArea, TargetArea/Depth, Width)

A similar attempt sort of worked, though it took away the parameter grips, which is a deal breaker. Is there a way to acheive what I'm after?

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Nov 3, 2013 at 2:58:51 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#2

alfmedina


active
alfmedina Avatar

Joined: Wed, Sep 26, 2007
162 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


See illustration. Three parameters: "side A", "side B", and "target area". The length of one of the sides is driven by a formula. The other two parameters, one of the sides and the target area, can be changed to calculate the lenth of that other side.



Attached Images

125608_11-3-2013_9-54-44_AM.jpg

-----------------------------------

Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 4, 2013 at 5:53:49 AM | Way around circular formuala references?

#3

ronmalit


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 30, 2012
113 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


hi,

if youre trying to achieve is to have the width automatically calculated when locked?

and key-in/define its value when its not locked?

right? if yes see attached files. 

 

if locked:

depth = define depth

area = define area

width = area/depth

 

if unlocked:

depth = define depth

width = define width

area = width*depth



Attached Images

125612_Capture.PNG125612_Capture2.PNG

-----------------------------------

** dont be mad, i dont have much... i am homeless

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 4, 2013 at 2:30:22 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#4

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Guys, thanks for the responses. Alf, I had tried your approach which works OK except that it only gives grips for stretching in one dimension. The other dimensions is calculated. I was hoping to maintain the freedom of stretching in either dimension and having the other calculated, but was getting the circular references. The Lock Target Area would turn this behavior on/off.

Ron, what you proposed isn't quite what I was after but gives an interesting workaround. My custom TAG lists both the target and actual areas. I didn't want to toggle between them. But, I like the idea calculating the value to be entered to acheive the target area, like in the attached. So, if I stretch the width, the family gives the depth I need to enter to acheive the desired area, and vice versa (see attached). I can live with this. You could say I was trying to acheive this end without having to key in the value.



Attached Images

125624_Target_Area.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 5, 2013 at 11:31:47 AM | buttonsrtoys

#5

alfmedina


active
alfmedina Avatar

Joined: Wed, Sep 26, 2007
162 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Quoting buttonsrtoys from 2013-11-04 08:30:22

"

Guys, thanks for the responses. Alf, I had tried your approach which works OK except that it only gives grips for stretching in one dimension. The other dimensions is calculated. I was hoping to maintain the freedom of stretching in either dimension and having the other calculated, but was getting the circular references. The Lock Target Area would turn this behavior on/off.

...

Well, of course, in my proposed solution, only one of the two sides is flexible, and the other one is constrained by the value of "target area". That is why I named the two sides "side A" and "side B", so that, if necessary, you could rotate the element, to make the width be the depth, or vice versa. If the two sides were flexible, the area would not be constrained to a target value.


-----------------------------------

Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 18, 2013 at 3:42:57 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#6

setver62


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 11, 2011
9 Posts
No Rating


I have a related question regard ing cirular references. I am having difficulty seeing what is causing it. I have had it show up a few times, and cannot reason out the cause. I've attached the family and a PDF of the proposed formula change. If anyone can help, that would be great!

 



-----------------------------------

setver62

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 18, 2013 at 4:13:42 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#7

alfmedina


active
alfmedina Avatar

Joined: Wed, Sep 26, 2007
162 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


For some reason, when I click on "apply", I don't get the "circular reference" error.

However, let make a comment: you should really start working with type catalogs, family types, or lookup tables. That would really simplify your families. The set of parameters for this family is excessive for this kind of family. Most of those IF statements and visibility parameters would not be necessary if you were using those other methods that I mentioned above.


-----------------------------------

Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 18, 2013 at 4:15:44 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#8

setver62


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 11, 2011
9 Posts
No Rating


I have a related question regard ing cirular references. I am having difficulty seeing what is causing it. I have had it show up a few times, and cannot reason out the cause. I've attached the family and a PDF of the proposed formula change. If anyone can help, that would be great!

 



-----------------------------------

setver62

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 18, 2013 at 4:22:35 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#9

setver62


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 11, 2011
9 Posts
No Rating


alf,

In the PDF, there was a line of text that I need inserted to replace the formula for a specific parameter. If you insert that text, then hit enter or apply, the cirsular reference comes up. If you did insert the text and received no error, do you have any idea why I might be receiving the error? Could this be a glitch in my installation?

As for your suggestions, I really appreciate them. IT sure is hard to think everything through that far when I start with only 5 parameters and the boss keeps having me add capabilities. And, of course, I barely know what I'm doing!

 

Setver


-----------------------------------

setver62

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 18, 2013 at 4:43:21 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#10

alfmedina


active
alfmedina Avatar

Joined: Wed, Sep 26, 2007
162 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Your PDF shows names of parameters that don't exist in your family such as:

Conduit to Rod A Int

Conduit to Rod B Int

Instead, you have some similar parameters, named such as

Conduit to Rod A (Int)

Conduit to Rod B (Int)

Notice the difference? The parenthesis. That by itself will not create a circular reference error but it might create an "invalid formula" or "parenthesis not expected" errors.

If, as you say, you "barely know what you're doing" and your boss is asking more and more of you in regards to families, maybe your boss should buy some training for you on topics of creating families. It's a win-win situation. You will learn more, he will get better families. If you are interested, I provide that service.


-----------------------------------

Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 18, 2013 at 5:00:39 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#11

setver62


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 11, 2011
9 Posts
No Rating


alf,

In the PDF, there was a line of text that I need inserted to replace the formula for a specific parameter. If you insert that text, then hit enter or apply, the cirsular reference comes up. If you did insert the text and received no error, do you have any idea why I might be receiving the error? Could this be a glitch in my installation?

As for your suggestions, I really appreciate them. IT sure is hard to think everything through that far when I start with only 5 parameters and the boss keeps having me add capabilities. And, of course, I barely know what I'm doing!

 

Setver


-----------------------------------

setver62

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 18, 2013 at 5:02:51 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#12

setver62


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 11, 2011
9 Posts
No Rating


My error, I forgot to save the file before posting. The PDF does show the correct data.



-----------------------------------

setver62

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 19, 2013 at 6:56:17 AM | Way around circular formuala references?

#13

dingohot


active
dingohot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 15, 2010
199 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


you need more parameters for both, depth and area

see attached image.

hope it helps.



Attached Images

126165__3.png

-----------------------------------

want more?

You can get more tips at Enjoy Revit

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 19, 2013 at 12:15:48 PM | Way around circular formuala references?

#14

setver62


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 11, 2011
9 Posts
No Rating


Regarding my request for aid yesterday, with attached family and PDF, please disregard. I found the circular reference this morning.


-----------------------------------

setver62

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wish List - Kill Circular Chain of references

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Thu, Apr 10, 2008 at 6:51:30 PM

2

Circular chain of events

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 12, 2006 at 2:23:06 AM

1

"Chain of Circular References"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 13, 2006 at 2:13:43 PM

1

There is a circular chain of references among the highlighted elements.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 30, 2005 at 9:56:01 AM

1

Circular chain of refenrences (Yes, another one...)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 21, 2011 at 5:35:49 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1443791

Objects:

20755

Forum Posts:

150857

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0944

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights