RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

231 Users Online (132 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 2:33:15 PM | Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

#1

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm creating my first toposurface from a survey by tracing over its contour lines. Some of my contour lines are fairly straight, so only require a few points to describe. I'm finding Revit dosn't preserve my contour lines. Rather, it preserves the points and creates its own contour lines by interpolating between the points. I'd prefer that it would preserve the contour lines and interpolate between these lines, but suspect this isn't an option in Revit and that if I want a decent representation of my contour lines, then I have to keep my spacing between points along the line down. Is that correct, or is there a way to enter and preserve contour lines in a toposurface?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 2:35:28 PM | Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


You create contour lines by placing points.  Your contour lines will follow the points created by you. 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 3:14:15 PM | Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

#3

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Right. And the contour lines pass through the points, but Revit takes liberties as to the path taken between the points when creating its contours. Attached is a pic showing what I mean. I created four concentric boxes. Rather than showing the contour lines as boxes, Revit smooths out the surface, which chchanges the contour lines I'd intended.

Of course typically you wouldn't have boxes for contour lines, but I'm finding even in real world situations Revit's interpolation is farther from the contour line than the path I'd entered when specifying the points. So, I'm thinking if you want your revit contours to be an approximation of the surveyed lines, you need to keep your points tight. Is that about right?

It would be nice to have the option to enter splines or even polylines as contour lines and Revit to interpolate between the lines. My question what whether I was missing something and this was possible.



Attached Images

125097_Contours.JPG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 3:57:42 PM | Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

#4

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


No points is the only way to do contours.  The more points closer together the better Revit will read your contours.  If you only have 4 boxes and 4 points per box how is Revit suppose to know what you want?  It is assuming what you want so you need to place more points.  Contour lines are subjet to interpretation by the person that is creating them.  If you and I were both to do a drawing we would both end up with slightly different results.  Revit will give you actual results instead of your interpretation.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 4:46:53 PM | Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

#5

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Tea, understood. To answer your question, "how is Revit suppose to know what I want?", I answered that a couple times in my previous posts. Rather than specifying topography by entering points, I want the option to specify lines and have the surface intepolated between the lines.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 4:48:35 PM | Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


Add it to Autodesk wish list


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 5:08:18 PM | Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

#7

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Will do. Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 1, 2018 at 7:57:52 PM | Possible to place contour lines to toposurface instead of points?

#8

sllana


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 2, 2011
106 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Did you try doing those contour lines in autocad and then generating the topo in revit?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Toposurface, Shared Coordinates, and Contour Labels - Need Help Fixing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 31, 2011 at 10:29:12 PM

1

toposurface

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 5, 2006 at 11:03:12 AM

0

Jumpy Topo lines while edit or add Points

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 31, 2009 at 9:04:47 AM

4

In-place mass/toposurface intersection

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 6, 2014 at 4:23:46 PM

2

Revit 2015 Missing Toposurface Points?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 17, 2015 at 1:58:27 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1781791

Objects:

22482

Forum Posts:

151948

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7299

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights