RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

354 Users Online (170 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Design Options cause Revit to crash

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Oct 5, 2013 at 9:11:45 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#1

camerongood210


active

Joined: Tue, May 12, 2009
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi all,

First off, this problem is happening in Revit 2012. This particular project has eight design options. We're now ready to further develope the eighth option, but Revit crashes every time we try to make it the primary option. We've tried purging and auditing the project but that doesn't help matters. We've also deleted options 2 thru 7 (option 1 is currently primary) but Revit still crashes when you try to make option 8 primary. Any ideas? This is driving me crazy.

Thanks guys


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 6:59:02 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Did you try making any other options the primary option without any problems?


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 7:05:07 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Have you only got one option set that contains your 8 options?  The reason I ask is does this primary act right with other option sets if you have them. 

 

More than likely, the problem is something like a ceiling that doesn't work well with that option. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 7:39:32 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#4

camerongood210


active

Joined: Tue, May 12, 2009
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


teafoe5, Yes. Making other options the primary option also makes Revit crash. Here's the funny thing: a couple weeks back when there were only six options in the project, I accidentally made one of those options primary and Revit didn't crash. I didn't intend to make that option primary at the time, so I just un-did it afterwards. This leads me to believe something whacky is going on with one of the newer options. At the same time, though, I can't remember which option I accidentally made primary. You would think deleting all the options besides option 8 would fix that problem if that really were the problem though. Strange.

 

WWHub, there is currently only one option set and that option set contains all eight options. When creating new options in the past for this project, we did notice Revit throw up a warning that some geometry would be un-joined (or whatever that warning says). (FYI...we duplicated existing options to create new options.) If you deleted the old options (1 thru 7), wouldn't that clear up any conflict option 8 had with an earlier option?

 

Here's another twist... This project was created using Revit 2012, but a friend has Revit 2013. He was able to open this project in 2013 and make Option 8 primary without a problem. Not sure if that informaton helps any.

 

Thanks again for your help guys.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 7:52:43 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


No option in an option set will have any problem with another option - only options in different sets.

 

Why are you making this the primary option?  You do realize that option sets can be controlled in VG - you don't have to set them to primary?  Have you worked through your views setting VG to the faulty option set?  Again, I will bet the problem is something like a ceiling that can't flex because a room is different.  So - start by changing your RCP's to that option set.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 8:45:29 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#6

camerongood210


active

Joined: Tue, May 12, 2009
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Are you saying options in one set can conflict with options in that same option set, but they will not conflict with options in other option sets? In the future, would it be best to create seperate option sets instead of creating all options under one option set?

We're trying to make this option primary because the client has selected this option and we're moving forward with the set. If you haven't picked up on it so far, we're still a little new at Revit and I didn't know you could control option visibility in VG. That being said, I wouldn't know where to begin in order to work thru VG and find the faulty set.

Also, we haven't yet created ceilings in this project. Could that still be a factor?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 8:57:16 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I'm saying options in the same set can't conflict..... that should not be your problem.

Before you start a different process - use your HELP.  There are great chapters on using the different tools in Revit.

 

If no ceilings then that is not a problem.  Have you got anything else that may be locked / aligned to walls that might be moved in this design option?  A room that was rectangular and changed to 'L' shaped is the culprit with ceilings.

 

You don't have to "work through the view to find the faulty set" - just set the VG in all your views to the option and see what happens.

 

BTW - Have you audited your file?  Always start there first, it may find the problem.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 8, 2013 at 5:49:26 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#8

camerongood210


active

Joined: Tue, May 12, 2009
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for your help. In one of the more recent options, we created some wall framing for pocket doors. Three 2x4 walls are placed right next to one another and the pocket door goes in the center of those three walls. It's a crazy/wasteful idea, but that's what the architect wanted. Anyways, that's the only thing I can think of that might be causing problems similar to what you describe. On top of that, these pocket door walls didn't make their appearance until option 7 or 8, and we were successfully able to make an option 'primary' before they showed up.

Yes, we have audited and purged the project.

Is there any substantial advantage to making an option 'primary'? This article pretty much says it cuts down on file size and clutter. If that's the case, then we can probably deal with the clutter and file size for this one if that's the only benefit.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 8, 2013 at 6:01:15 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Dealing with an option for documentation, demands you have it set in all VG settings including schedules.  And you have to open the set to edit it and only one person at a time can do that.

 

I suggest you try deleting non-used sets until you get it down to just primary and your #8.  You can't delete the primary. 

 

Next I would delete the possible offending items and see if you can then change primary.  If so, you can open detached in the same session another copy of the older model and copy paste those deleted elements back into your model that no longer has any options.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 8, 2013 at 10:54:29 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#10

camerongood210


active

Joined: Tue, May 12, 2009
10 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Bad news. I deleted the pocket door wall framing that we talked about, purged/audited the project, but Revit still crashed when trying to make any other option primary. That pocket door wall framing is the only thing I can think of in this project that might be causing a problem. Oh well. We'll just use VG to show the option we need. Thanks for your help though. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 12:04:34 PM | Design Options cause Revit to crash

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I would not work with this model.  AutoDESK has basically a one day turn around to fix things like this. If you can't do that then I would do the following:

 

If you don't have much documentation yet, I would consider starting a new model then copy paste all the levels into your new model and then from a roof plan that has everything on and full depth, copying the entire model (option Shadey and pasting it into the new model - same place.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Design options issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 2, 2006 at 4:35:31 PM

1

Design Options

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Dec 24, 2003 at 4:33:51 PM

0

Design options - Working with the design options

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 1, 2016 at 5:26:15 PM

3

Titleblocks & Design Options

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 8, 2008 at 8:06:33 PM

3

design options tied to other objects (version 2008)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 1, 2008 at 11:17:36 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1651800

Objects:

22100

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.7696

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights