RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

43 Users Online (42 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Family problems

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Oct 3, 2013 at 11:41:56 AM | Family problems

#1

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


I created this quick and fairly simple family, but I'm getting errors when trying to install it into the model. Anybody care to take a look and see what I might have done wrong? It'd be much appreciated.



-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 3, 2013 at 12:48:46 PM | Family problems

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


What errors are you getting when you try to load it? What revit version are you using? The more information you give us the better we can help you.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 3, 2013 at 1:40:05 PM | Family problems

#3

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


You're right. I missed that part.

 

I'm on trial revit 2014 while waiting for serial numbers, and the error I get is "Can't make type "Scrub Sink - WI-CWSSS-1"."


-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 3, 2013 at 3:26:39 PM | Family problems

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


2014 has an update 1 - I suggest you install that because it corrects some issues.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 15, 2013 at 1:39:32 PM | Family problems

#5

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


So I got my serials and I'm pretty sure I'm running the latest - [20130709_2115 (x64)], and still having that problem with this family. Any other ideas? Does it work on your systems?

Thanks for y'all's help.


-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 15, 2013 at 1:49:43 PM | Family problems

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


I have no problem placing your sink .... you do have to have a wall.

BTW - you are not running the latest 2014 because it has Update 1.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 15, 2013 at 4:43:05 PM | Family problems

#7

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


It's not the latest? Everything that I have says I'm up to date. See link referencing my build. What am I missing?


-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 16, 2013 at 7:13:48 AM | Family problems

#8

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


Did you actually download update 1 yourself?  Try doing it.  If you already have it it will say your product is already up to date.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 16, 2013 at 10:05:38 AM | Family problems

#9

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


It's not the latest? Everything that I have says I'm up to date. See link referencing my build. What am I missing?


-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 16, 2013 at 10:24:27 AM | Family problems

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


You have always referred to build but there is more to this than build number.  In Revit, click on the down arrow to the right of the question mark.  Then click on about.  There you will see your build but below that you will also need to see "Update Release 1".  Regardless of the build number, if you don't see update, then you don't have the update installed.



Edited on: Wed, Oct 16, 2013 at 10:25:15 AM

Attached Images

125072_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 23, 2013 at 5:36:20 PM | Family problems [Solved]

#11

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


That's the build I had. So in any case, if anybody runs into this problem again, see the solution below:

I worked it out with AutoDesk and they said the problem appears to have been the faucet. I erased it and after a few tries was able to insert it. They suggested I do the faucet as a separate family and bring it in that way so that it works better.


-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 24, 2013 at 6:50:21 AM | Family problems

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


It's interesting that you still have never answered with what update you have installed.

Glad you got your problem worked out.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 24, 2013 at 9:01:52 AM | Family problems [Solved]

#13

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


That's the build I had. So in any case, if anybody runs into this problem again, see the solution below:

I worked it out with AutoDesk and they said the problem appears to have been the faucet. I erased it and after a few tries was able to insert it. They suggested I do the faucet as a separate family and bring it in that way so that it works better.


-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 24, 2013 at 9:12:45 AM | Family problems

#14

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


I thought I did. The Update Release 1 _IS_ build number 20130709_2115. In my experience the build number is the important number - the only unique identifier of a software distribution package. I would think it's possible for two builds (...2115 and ...2116) to have the same official name (Update 7), but it's not possible for two offifial names (i.e.: Update 3 and Update 4) to have the same build. Also, Autodesk confirmed that I had the latest build when they did the TeamViewer, by reading off the build number.

 

In any case, that's my experience, but I suppose there could be exceptions. See my screen grab to clarify.

 

Glad it's solved though. Now on to more problems... Smile

 

 



Attached Images

125337_Revit_2014_UR-1.JPG

-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 24, 2013 at 3:11:37 PM | Family problems

#15

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


Perhaps you know what build numbers mean like autodesk does but we don't know them.  What we do know is what update numbers are appropriate for what release - no matter what the build number is (and there are different ones).


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Light Fixture Family problems

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Jun 13, 2012 at 3:25:52 AM

8

IN PLACE FAMILY PROBLEMS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 12, 2009 at 5:29:50 PM

1

Elevator Problems WWHub & mflure

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 13, 2009 at 11:19:55 AM

1

Elevation Problems

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 1:40:00 PM

1

Parametric Pipe Fittings Family Modelling Problems

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 12, 2018 at 3:44:30 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1963898

Objects:

22850

Forum Posts:

152159

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9647

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights