RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

282 Users Online (123 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> View Range for Revit Link

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Sep 30, 2013 at 11:29:43 PM | View Range for Revit Link

#1

benlink


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


I'm working in 2013.  I have a structural model referenced into model, and am having some issues with the view range? of the structural model.  

 

The view range of my plan is:

cut - 4'

Top - 7'

Bottom - 0'

Depth - 0' 

Associated Level across the board.

When the Revit model is inserted I see a brace (from structural) in the plan that should be cut much lower than it is showing up.  See the plan and interior elevation of the same area, attached.  The structural model is selected (blue) in both views.  As you'll see, the interior elevation shows the brace flying high above the door, but in plan it looks like the brace is in conflict with the door.  Is there some way to control the view range of linked model separately that I'm missing?  Also, under VG, Revit Links, (custom) my View Range is set to "By Host View." 

 

Regards,

.blc



Edited on: Mon, Sep 30, 2013 at 6:39:51 PM

Attached Images

124437_Plan.jpg124437_Elevation.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 1, 2013 at 12:14:07 PM | View Range for Revit Link

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 325 Votes


Do you know what category that brace is in?

Search cuttable in the HELP:  http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Revit/enu/2013



Edited on: Tue, Oct 1, 2013 at 10:05:17 AM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 1, 2013 at 1:59:15 PM | View Range for Revit Link

#3

benlink


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


It's Structural Framing.  So do I need to go into the structural model to change the "Cuttable Families" option (the link didn't open in Chrome, for other readers...copy and paste into Mozilla)?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 1, 2013 at 3:09:48 PM | View Range for Revit Link

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 325 Votes


Sorry that I miss posted that link yesterday.  That was to our locally installed HELP.  I hate the Autodesk WIKI help because it is so slow and often doesn't even work so we turn that pointer off and point our systems to a locally installed version of the help.  I just tried to open the autodesk site and it will not open for me.

 

Structural framing is shown as cuttable but this does not look like it is.  That is why I wanted you to open the linked project and make sure that family is set to the right category.  Too many people just create generic families.

 

Your ultimate choice is to individually hide this element in plan.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 1, 2013 at 3:34:26 PM | View Range for Revit Link

#5

benlink


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


Thanks.  I need to see it, so I'm assuming I'll have to change it in their model or have them change it and resend.

 

Thanks,

.blc


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 1, 2013 at 8:46:16 PM | View Range for Revit Link

#6

benlink


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


Ok, after going back and forth with the structural guys, we're still at a loss.  I need these to show up in my plan.  So, I can't jsut hide them.  They are catagorized as Structural Framing, so they should cut at the host view's View Range cut level.  I can't edit them with cut profile or anything like that.  Are there any other options here?  

Kind Regards,

.blc


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 8:39:25 PM | View Range for Revit Link

#7

benlink


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


For everyone else, the solution had to do with the view settings of the framing components on structural's end, as WWHub was suggesting.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 11, 2015 at 11:53:06 PM | View Range for Revit Link

#8

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


What were those settings? I'm having the same issue...everything thing be behaving correctly per family settings etc. I haven't had this issue before but it's coming up in this round for some reason for me. Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 12, 2015 at 1:10:18 PM | View Range for Revit Link

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 325 Votes


The family ... even an in-place family... has to be set to a cuttable category.   See your HELP:


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

view range of a link file

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 8:51:37 AM

2

Associated Level in View Range

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 12, 2008 at 2:36:23 PM

0

View Range Revit 2014

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 20, 2015 at 3:55:04 PM

4

View Range Cut Plane Associated Level is wrong

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, May 4, 2012 at 4:46:09 PM

3

Revit MEP 2012-View Range

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 12:22:48 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1180218

Objects:

19433

Forum Posts:

149325

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.0879

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights