RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

122 Users Online (39 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps >> 3DStudio max 13 and linked Revit files

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 at 3:58:20 PM | 3DStudio max 13 and linked Revit files

#1

Jinxt3r


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 11, 2013
11 Posts
No Rating


Why is it that every time I need to refresh my linked Revit file in 3dstudio it fails to connect to Revit and reports the the file may be missing or corrupt?  I must close out 3Dstudio, restart it, and only then will it allow me to refresh/reload the Revit file.  If I make a change to my Revit project and have to refresh it in 3Dstudio again, I must repeat the shut down process.  It is annoying to say the least and very time consuming.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 2:42:57 PM | 3DStudio max 13 and linked Revit files

#2

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 25 Votes


I found that its helpful to close out of the Revit {3D} view (or subsequent camera view, whichever you import) and THEN hit save in Revit.  Only then should you reload the revit model in 3dsMax.  What's weird is that doesn't work everytime, but I know what you're saying.  Its frustrating.  Sometimes I just close completely out of revit before I reload in Max.  That has worked 100% of the time.  I presume that max has a glitch in it that once the revit model has had X number of changes, lets say 100, it won't reload without completely having to close out.  It gets "hung up" on something.

Also, did you notice that not all the material settings transfer properly?  Try creating a tiny perforated metal (circular holes + cutouts) and then import it into 3dsMax.  The holes are 10 times larger than what you specified in Revit.

Best of luck!


-----------------------------------

RB Cameron

3D Medical Equipment

Download Revit Healthcare Models Now

Download Other Revit + 3dsMax Models Here

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 2:52:11 PM | 3DStudio max 13 and linked Revit files

#3

Jinxt3r


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 11, 2013
11 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the advice.  I will take it into consideration.  As it stands, Autodesk tech support has looked into the issue and are at this time unable to provide a successful resolution.  They have informed me that the issue has been passed to the software design/engineering team.I have indeed noticed the material changes and I beleive that to be a 3Dstudio setting under "system units".  However, I only apply materials to items in Revit as a reference.  I normally customize or replace those materials once brought into 3dStudio. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 3:05:03 PM | 3DStudio max 13 and linked Revit files

#4

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 25 Votes


I customize some materials in 3dsMax too.  Have you been able to find a way to not let Revit override 3ds materials once you've changed them?  I know there's a checkbox for "lights, materials, cameras" but I have found that doesn't do anything to my model whether or not those are checked or not.  Makes me not want to reload my revit model passed a certain point.

but hey, at least we don't have to export to FBX and import anymore.  I like the linking feature, huge improvement in terms of workflow.  this stuff we're dealing with is minor.  glass is half full.  Winking


-----------------------------------

RB Cameron

3D Medical Equipment

Download Revit Healthcare Models Now

Download Other Revit + 3dsMax Models Here

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 3:22:48 PM | 3DStudio max 13 and linked Revit files

#5

Jinxt3r


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 11, 2013
11 Posts
No Rating


Yes, when you link a Revit file in 2013, there are two check boxes located at the bottom.  One is to retain 3dStudio material overrides of linked Revit materials, and the other is to retain 3dStudio material assigments to objects upon reload of linked files.  I prefer to keep both of these boxes checked since I am the only one in the company using 3dstudio.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Importing from 3DStudio Max

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Apr 18, 2011 at 7:04:03 PM

2

3DStudio objects

Community >> The Studio

Mon, May 8, 2006 at 3:06:13 PM

2

Revit that contains linked revit files - linked to 3ds max design fails

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 24, 2014 at 10:59:33 PM

0

Revit FBX causes 3DS Max to crash

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 11:02:27 PM

1

autocad linked files and refresh

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 7, 2009 at 7:12:36 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1780185

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151947

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.2387

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights