RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

195 Users Online (53 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Can not swap out one stair family for another

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 6:18:26 PM | Can not swap out one stair family for another

#1

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


Hello

I hope this is something obvious I have overlooked.

I have a file with different stair families. A while ago a use one stair family, imported it into my project by copying and

pasting it into my project file. I then used the stair tool to create the stair I needed using that system family. Now I want

to use a different stair from the same file. I copy it into my project file but REVIT will not recognize it. I can not swap out

my old stair for the new one and I can not re-draw the stair with the stair tool. I just don't have the option to use the stair

system family what so ever. Have tried a couple of different stair families, same result.

I've tried to do this on a couple of different days and it still won't work. In the original file with the collection of stair

types I can swap one family for another no problem.

 

What do I seem to be missing.

Using REVIT LT 2013

Also upgraded the stair library RVT file and saved it, makes no different to the project RVT file.

Thanks

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 6:26:36 PM | Can not swap out one stair family for another

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


You probably have a corrupted program ....or file.  Try another system with this file to see if its your program.  Try a new file with these stairs to see if its your file.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 6:49:35 PM | Can not swap out one stair family for another

#3

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


Hub I think your right

I loaded a railing family into my project file in the same manner I loaded my stairs, I am able to use it, draw railings

with it and swap it out for the default revit railings.

I open a new project "basic revit project" and copied in the two stair types I was having trouble with. I can swap them out

for eachother, but can not use them with the stair tool. I can draw stairs with the families pre-loaded into the revit template,

but also cannot swap them out out for the custom stairs I was trying to use. I can swap out the custom stairs for revit template

stairs and back again though.

 

Also copied a stair from the Autodesk revit file into my project and was able to swap them out.

I think the file with the custom stairs I was using is somehow messed up.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 8:35:13 PM | Can not swap out one stair family for another

#4

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


Could this be a result of upgrading files from a pervious version? I'm getting similar results with a stair from a previous

office project. It will play ball with the one custom stair family from the library file but not all stairs.

WTF!? Weird


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 at 4:25:16 PM | Can not swap out one stair family for another

#5

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


Ok new theory

as of 2013 stairs are now component based.

therefore stairs built before 2013 that I downnload off the web are not component based.

Such that they will not work with the new stair tool since they are not designed for it?

Tired this on a full version of Revit on a different comp and got the same results, but at least in full version I can

draw a stair by sketch, where in Revit LT I can not.

Just thought of this, this morning so not sure if I can use the old stair families would work in "draw by sketch" mode as

I only have access to Revit LT at this very moment.

Any thoughts? WWHub?

Attached is the stair file.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 at 5:18:05 PM | Can not swap out one stair family for another

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


2013 introduced component stairs but stair by sketch is still available.

In 2014, I just opened my copy of the 2008 stair samples from the on-line library and did several different stair types with no problems.  But I am using Revit - not LT.  LT may be your issue.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 at 5:24:19 PM | Can not swap out one stair family for another

#7

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


Was wondering that.

I can convert to a sketch, just can't create a stair in Revit LT that way. I actually just crashed revit with trying to edit a stair sketch. The stair

I was trying to use actually copied in as a sketch, I'm thinking this is why doesn't work with the stair tool.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

One family parameter has formula one has none

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 6:05:54 PM

7

2013 stair path symbol for component stairs displays differently

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 6, 2014 at 9:03:50 PM

2

Add Title Block to multiple sheets quickly?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 29, 2011 at 3:36:15 PM

1

Performance lag with Type Selector

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 4, 2011 at 2:48:11 PM

1

Title block, not the usual question

Community >> The Studio

Wed, May 9, 2012 at 1:16:08 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1668117

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.2902

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights