RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

220 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> linked file visibility

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 7:01:40 PM | linked file visibility

#1

vinnygolfer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 8, 2009
181 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


hi. i'm using Revit 2014. i have a background Revit file that has a linked autocad file for the structural. i'm having troubles with visibility. if i open the Arch background revit file, i see the structural in plan view, and 3d. however, in the mep model i only see the arch, and not the structural. if i use the reveal hidden elements button, the structural is there, but the button the unhide elements is greyed out. i have gone into VG and can't find any way to turn on the linked file. and when i export to navisworks the structural is there. i'm trying to turn it back on to route around the structure. any ideas.

 


-----------------------------------

Try to learn at least one new thing every day

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 7:48:28 PM | linked file visibility

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Is it just 2D CAD?  If so, you may have something hiding it in your file.  Turn your view to transparent and see if it shows up.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 7:54:52 PM | linked file visibility

#3

vinnygolfer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 8, 2009
181 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


no the structural was is a 3d autocad file. it was showing up. and was in the way so i hid it in view. but now i can't get it to unhide. if i open the linked file by it's self the structural is there. and if i go into navisworks, it's there. i'm confused. if i use the reveal hidden elements button, i see the structural, but can't unhide it.


-----------------------------------

Try to learn at least one new thing every day

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 8:01:03 PM | linked file visibility

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You may have this link turned off under the VG/Revit Links.

 

Try making a different plan view without a template.

 

....wait - you said you hid it....   temporary (sunglasses) ?  Must not be because it shows in reveal hidden.   Your problem is selecting it to unhide it. 



Edited on: Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 3:05:28 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 8:21:45 PM | linked file visibility

#5

vinnygolfer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 8, 2009
181 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


hi hub, attached are what i'm talking about. i did one in the normal 3d mode and the other is what i see if i use the reveal hidden elements.



Attached Files

-----------------------------------

Try to learn at least one new thing every day

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 8:23:00 PM | linked file visibility

#6

vinnygolfer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 8, 2009
181 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


i don't know why only one of them attached, but here is the second.


-----------------------------------

Try to learn at least one new thing every day

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 8:33:17 PM | linked file visibility

#7

vinnygolfer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 8, 2009
181 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


lets try that one again



-----------------------------------

Try to learn at least one new thing every day

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 9:09:53 PM | linked file visibility

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Make a new 3D view!   Selecting linked CAD files in a linked Revit model would be hard to do. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 23, 2013 at 12:35:56 PM | linked file visibility

#9

vinnygolfer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 8, 2009
181 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


I tried making a new 3d view. no change. and yes it's a linked Autocad file, in a linked Revit file. i don't think it's possible. just a little more coordinating through navisworks to avoid the structure. or i can link the autocad file into the MEP Revit file also. i was trying to avoid that, because the structural base point is off in the X,Y, and Z directions. by about 100' each. they totally missed.


-----------------------------------

Try to learn at least one new thing every day

This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 23, 2013 at 12:50:26 PM | linked file visibility

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Vinny .... I WOULD link it in seperately and move it to where it belongs and in it's own workset that is normally off.   Then it won't even load with the linked architectural file.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 23, 2013 at 1:05:11 PM | linked file visibility

#11

vinnygolfer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 8, 2009
181 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


thanks for the help. i was only using it that way, for ease of use downstream. i'm running the BIM coordination on the project, and suppling the subs with autocad files for background, and i loaded the arch/struct into navisworks for clash detection. it makes it easy to work with for that portion. but for my file it's not a good option. i just need to link it into my working file and be done playing around with it.


-----------------------------------

Try to learn at least one new thing every day

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Linked File Visibility Management

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 3, 2008 at 12:11:30 PM

6

Visibility of linked revit file in different views?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 14, 2017 at 6:11:18 PM

3

Linked File Visibility

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 4, 2006 at 9:53:07 AM

2

Linked File, how can I dimension it?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 20, 2010 at 2:08:50 AM

7

visibility problem with linked files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 11, 2008 at 4:52:11 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1779244

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7224

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights