RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

29 Users Online (28 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Purge Command - possible to purge family types accidentally?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 20, 2013 at 11:29:16 AM | Purge Command - possible to purge family types accidentally?

#1

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


Hello

     I made a family that had a variety of family types in it. It was a detail component with presets for certain dimensions

entered as family types. I just noticed I have lost all the family types (under project browser)  that I have not already used in the project. I did not try intentially to do this, but I'm sure I used the purge command at some point. I opened the family in the family editor and the family types are also deleted from there as well! Will the purge command eleimate family types from a family without going into the family editor and deleting them? This seems absurb and will discourage me from purging my project files in fears of adversly effecting my families.

 

Thanks

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 20, 2013 at 11:53:16 AM | Purge Command - possible to purge family types accidentally?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Families should be kept in a library.  Purging family types in a project will not affect the family in the library.  So if you need the deleted types back, open the family from your library and reload it.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 20, 2013 at 12:01:08 PM | Purge Command - possible to purge family types accidentally?

#3

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


Right, ok thanks,

Yes keeping a library.

I forgot that once an family is in a project it is esentially it's own file, at least separate from its original.

I'm still thinking of them as linked. 

My bad


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

purge selected

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:40:42 PM

5

Text style that I can't get purge

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Sep 5, 2012 at 8:40:41 AM

6

purge issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 16, 2008 at 11:26:22 PM

2

Fixing the overuse of Purge

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 12, 2011 at 6:52:05 AM

5

Where are Regions in the Purge List

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 14, 2017 at 10:33:21 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

2016482

Objects:

22942

Forum Posts:

152203

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 9.3684

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights