RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

303 Users Online (163 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Problem adjusting dimensional lumber length

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 13, 2013 at 11:56:22 PM | Problem adjusting dimensional lumber length

#1

joenunez


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 16, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


Using Revit 2013. I'm having trouble understanding why when I adjust one side of a dimensional lumber (either by editing value in Aligned Dimension or by using Align command) the other side also adusts/moves. What am I doing wrong? I can adjust length of lumber by dragging the Shape Handles, but it is not accurate. Should I be trying to make the adjustment on a specific level/view or am I just completely missing something here? The dimensional lumber is coming from Families>Structural Framing>Dimensional Lumber>3x8 (or any other type in there) ----as see in Project Browser window. See image. 



Attached Images

123142_Adjusting_Dimension_Lumber_Problem.jpg

-----------------------------------

joenunez

Revit Architecture 2017 \ 

20170225_1515(x64)

Windows 7 Enterprise SP1 \ Xeon \ 20 GB RAM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 1:45:15 AM | Problem adjusting dimensional lumber length

#2

ronmalit


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 30, 2012
113 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


hi

lock the 6' dimension before u modify/key-in the other dimension.

or create a reference plane with offset value of 6' and 3'4" . then u can drag and snap your framing accurately.


-----------------------------------

** dont be mad, i dont have much... i am homeless

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 3:12:47 PM | Problem adjusting dimensional lumber length

#3

joenunez


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 16, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


ronmalit: I have tried locking either side and when I perform the length adjustmust via the Align tool or Key-In one side one side still moves. I will try the reference plane method and see if it snaps to it, but I've tried something similar. I drew detail lines (as pseudo reference lines) at the distances I need them at and then tried dragging into place with Shape Handles; that method was inaccurate because it was not snapping to lines (i didn't have the option to do a right-click snap override either)



Edited on: Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 1:31:54 PM

-----------------------------------

joenunez

Revit Architecture 2017 \ 

20170225_1515(x64)

Windows 7 Enterprise SP1 \ Xeon \ 20 GB RAM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 4:15:03 PM | Problem adjusting dimensional lumber length

#4

joenunez


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 16, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


ronmalit: I have tried locking either side and when I perform the length adjustmust via the Align tool or Key-In one side one side still moves. I will try the reference plane method and see if it snaps to it, but I've tried something similar. I drew detail lines (as pseudo reference lines) at the distances I need them at and then tried dragging into place with Shape Handles; that method was inaccurate because it was not snapping to lines (i didn't have the option to do a right-click snap override either)


-----------------------------------

joenunez

Revit Architecture 2017 \ 

20170225_1515(x64)

Windows 7 Enterprise SP1 \ Xeon \ 20 GB RAM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 10:13:20 PM | Problem adjusting dimensional lumber length

#5

joenunez


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 16, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


the reference plane (Architecture>Work Plane>Ref Plane) method worked just fine. I am able to grab a Shape Handle from the end of lumber, adjust the length, and it definitely snaps to the ref plane. Though when I tried Aligning to the ref plane, the opposite end of the lumber still moves. Look like dragging the Shape Handles to ref plane is how I will do this. Thanks.



Edited on: Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 5:20:34 PM

-----------------------------------

joenunez

Revit Architecture 2017 \ 

20170225_1515(x64)

Windows 7 Enterprise SP1 \ Xeon \ 20 GB RAM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dimensional Lumber in Elevation + Plan

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Oct 18, 2013 at 7:39:14 PM

2

Loading families like dimensional lumber

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 12:26:20 PM

2

Dimensional Lumber-Section.rfa

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Feb 20, 2007 at 6:22:43 PM

2

Floor Joists

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 1, 2008 at 6:53:41 PM

2

materials??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 29, 2008 at 2:47:16 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1595265

Objects:

21921

Forum Posts:

151540

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2933

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights