RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

238 Users Online (102 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Line-based DF with array: parameters in nested families need help

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 13, 2013 at 3:55:15 PM | Line-based DF with array: parameters in nested families need help

#1

DukeW


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 7, 2012
5 Posts
No Rating


Hi, all.  Tried searching and found several threads, but none of them really helped.

 

In Revit Architecture 2012, I am building a line-based detail family for showing metal studs in section, at a parametric spacing.  Used for drawing wall details in plan or roof/ceiling details in section, showing studs cut through at a given spacing interval, with the last stud reversed so the closed side is toward the adjoining wall.  I have my first stud locked to a reference plane at the start, my last stud locked to a reference plane at the end.  There is a parameter for stud spacing.  The first stud is arrayed, with the array count being a formula of the line length divided by the given stud spacing.  Length is an instance parameter and depth / spacing are type parameters.

 

So far it works great, except for one thing.  I was hoping to make the stud size parametric as well, so I could do a variety of wall types within this one family.  I have tried this 2 ways, and neither has worked.

 

The first way:  I made a parametric detail family for the stud, which is a simple filled region with all the fixed dimensions locked, and the stud depth set to a label parameter.  I nested this as my stud object in the LBDF, and then loaded the LBDF into my project.  It worked fine at the default stud size, and I could adjust the spacing parameter at will.  However, there was no visible way to adjust the stud depth value of the nested stud family when using the LBDF in the model.  It used the default stud size of the family that I had inserted and I am stuck with that.

 

Second way:  I made the same LBDF except drawing a filled region directly in the LBDF rather than nesting the stud object.  I labeled the stud depth for the first and last stud, as well as the second stud in the sample array.  Once I loaded it into the project, this seemed like it would work, because the stud depth parameter was adjustable.  HOWEVER: the only stud that changed depth was the one at the end.  The others, in the array, remain stuck at the default size and don't repsond to the change of depth parameter.

 

Can someone point me in the right direction to solve this?  The first way seems like it would be better for file size, but whichever way can be made to work correctly is fine.

 

I could always make individual families for each stud depth, but I'd rather avoid that if I can combine them into types of one family.

 

Thanks for any help.



Edited on: Tue, Aug 13, 2013 at 11:10:44 AM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 13, 2013 at 10:14:24 PM | Line-based DF with array: parameters in nested families need help

#2

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


When arraying elements that need to be parametric it seems to work best with nesting families, as you tried to do.

There are a couple ways to make the nested families adjustable from the project.

1: Set up various types in the nested family, then in the main family assign a parameter to control which type is used (see pic #1)

2: Tie the nested families parameters to corresponding parameters in the main family (see pic #2)



Attached Images

123140_8-13-2013_16-12-57.png123140_8-13-2013_16-06-36.png

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 4:34:44 PM | Line-based DF with array: parameters in nested families need help

#3

DukeW


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 7, 2012
5 Posts
No Rating


@TKennedy:  Excellent, thank you!  It worked perfectly once I mapped the stud depth parameter through from the nested fmily, as shown in your first picture.  That's just what I was looking for.

 

I have a minor glitch in the spacing formula, in that it won't add another stud until the length of the last bay exceeds 1/2 of the stud spacing.  However, for the intended use, that's a minor issue, and I think I'll table that for later development.

 

Thanks again for your accurate and prompt help.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 4:57:39 PM | Line-based DF with array: parameters in nested families need help

#4

DukeW


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 7, 2012
5 Posts
No Rating


[edit] Wups, double post.

 

I also meant to say your second picture above, not your first picture.  Thanks again.



Edited on: Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 12:37:22 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 9:40:34 PM | Line-based DF with array: parameters in nested families need help

#5

DukeW


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 7, 2012
5 Posts
No Rating


TK was a great help with this last time; hopefully s/he can help out with this one too.  I'm 90% of the way there but the new family I'm trying to make is behaving oddly in the host model.

Using TK's advice above, I got the framing LBDF to work perfectly - stud size and spacing are fully parametric, I have a parametric stud cross section family that is nested in the framing LBDF and the stud dimensions are mapped through as suggested.  Works perfectly and I have made both wood and metal versions, no problem.

After that success, I am trying to make a similar LBDF for wood roof trusses in cross section.  I built a truss family with the member dimensions - top chord depth and bottom chord depth (type parameters).  There is a filled region between the top member and the bottom member that depicts the truss web beyond, and the edges of that are locked to the faces of the chord members so graphically it looks good.  I have a ref plane at the bottom and top of the overall truss.  This is labelled as "truss_depth".

Ideally, I would like that to be an instance parameter so that once you draw the LBDF with the appropriate parameters set, you can drag the top reference plane of that particular set up and down to match the roof cut you need to fill.  But every time I try that, it behaves oddly in the host family - either the arrayed trusses stay the default height no matter where I drag the grip (only the endcap is affected) or else they do a weird stagger thing where some move up and some move down.

Any ideas?  I have attached the LBDF file.  Thanks for any help!



This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 4, 2013 at 2:59:08 PM | Line-based DF with array: parameters in nested families need help

#6

DukeW


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 7, 2012
5 Posts
No Rating


Bump!  Can anybody help with my new issue from post #5?  Thank you!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Array on a Parametric Face

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 7, 2017 at 11:09:10 PM

0

Use Nested Void Family to Cut Host?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, May 28, 2011 at 3:39:48 PM

8

Converting Ceiling Based families to Face Based Families

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Jun 13, 2018 at 12:13:41 AM

5

Is Solution to Creating a Parametric Polar Array?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 23, 2013 at 1:40:06 AM

4

Rebar in Stepped Footing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 8, 2009 at 3:21:16 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1469402

Objects:

20536

Forum Posts:

150619

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7344

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights