RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

199 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Rvt 2013 Handrails for 3-run stair

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 5, 2013 at 9:21:20 PM | Rvt 2013 Handrails for 3-run stair

#1

msaady


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 5, 2013
11 Posts
No Rating


For some reason, Rvt doesn't like it when my stairs have more than 2 runs to get to a level.  The handrails work fine if I have a 2-run stair, but if it's a 3-run stair the handrails do not behave properly.  I can't seem to get them to work.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 5, 2013 at 9:31:51 PM | Rvt 2013 Handrails for 3-run stair

#2

msaady


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 5, 2013
11 Posts
No Rating


I think I need to clarify:  The handrail at the center of the stair works fine.  When I want to change the handrail at the wall side of the stair, Rvt does not like handrail lines being broken at each landing.  How can I get a handrail on the wall side (wall mounted, not baluster mounted) to be broken at each stair section termination top and bottom.  Thanks in advance.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 6, 2013 at 3:39:24 AM | Rvt 2013 Handrails for 3-run stair

#3

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Hi Msaady,

Please see these two threads, hope they can give you some ideas.

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=28323

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=22344

The way I did in the second thread "22344" was to start the railing from the bottom up to one step lower than the upper landings for both flights, than created top and bottom rail extensions with one section of railing for middle landing.

The reason I did that was the riser in each flight are different, because I wanted to set the landing at a certain elevation.



Edited on: Mon, Aug 5, 2013 at 10:40:15 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 6, 2013 at 5:03:28 PM | Rvt 2013 Handrails for 3-run stair

#4

msaady


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 5, 2013
11 Posts
No Rating


I think I got Revit fooled into representing what I wanted to see.  CDW, your suggestion would not work for me as I have a stair with a double switchback to get up to a second level (3 sets of rises with the third rise directly above the third rise) as opposed to a single switchback with a double rise on one run (your PDF example).  Revit does not like the third rise of the stair when using it as a host for railings.  The first two rises behave as expected when using them as a host for a wall mounted rail.  The third rise when picked as a host will default revit back to the original (first) rise of the stair and will drop the handrail back down to the first rise. 

So here's my work-around:  I created the original 3-rise stair, noted the elevation of the second landing, deleted the top rise of the stair.  Then I created an additional stair starting from the second level and then going down to the second landing elevation.  This enables revit to use the third rise as a host for the wall mounted rail at the high elevation as an individual entity and not dependant on the first rise.  I hope this description was clear and I hope this might help other users with similar issues. 

The only drawback that I can see to this method is that the handrails (hand and guard rail) at the center stringers do not join at the second landing level (the intersection of the two separate stairs).  For me this is not too big of an issue as I can add a couple of drafting lines to join the rails as I see fit in our documentation sheet views.

Thanks for your time.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 5, 2017 at 6:59:55 PM | Rvt 2013 Handrails for 3-run stair

#5

Xanadu79


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 9, 2008
0 Posts
No Rating


I have encountered the same problem, but if the railing is edited and is split on the lowest tread nosing line, it will host the the third run perfectly.  For some reason it the railing needs to be spilt to retain the third run hosted. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Stair Handrails and View Range

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 7:37:22 PM

0

Revit 2013 Stairs/Handrails

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 15, 2013 at 1:27:18 AM

4

STAIR HANDRAILS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 13, 2010 at 2:50:19 PM

1

Help - stairs with arch run

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 22, 2008 at 1:26:28 PM

9

REVIT 2015 Stair - Straight Run to Curve Run

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 5, 2014 at 5:06:59 AM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1623883

Objects:

22014

Forum Posts:

151625

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 7.2485

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights