RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

40 Users Online (39 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Dummy Tag

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jul 29, 2013 at 5:18:24 PM | Dummy Tag

#1

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


Hello

I know I'm not suppose to make "dummy tags" in Revit. But sometimes its usufull for annotation when I couldn't

model something and simply draw it into 2D.Things like Hardie Plank trim details on a facade or whatever.

 

So can I make an annotation tag which behaves like a CAD block where I insert and enter user defined information

instead of the tag trying to read the model info?

Seems the problems are:

-can't scale regular families, so the tag has to be built from an predinfined annotation template to scale to the view.

-annotation tags will not go into the model when trying to "tag by categy" or whatever because Revit is searching for a host

for the tag. True?

-can't copy a normal tag and change the family type to a dumby tag because it wants a host.

Is this totally impossible in Revit?

I'm looking for a process on how to generate such a tag, then merely change the graphics to suite whatever purpose. Another

example is an elevation marker that might be needed to give information about something for construction but is not a level

in the model, because it didn't need to be.

Thanks

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 29, 2013 at 5:56:14 PM | Dummy Tag

#2

RevitMaestro


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 28, 2007
18 Posts
No Rating


Honestly, I try not to do workarounds in Revit, personally, because there usually is a way to do what you need to do using the tools without workarounds, however, I have come across situations where it is necessary, for some reason or another.  So I would recommend trying to rethink your approach for some of these things, perhaps, in the long run to get the full advantage of the software.  I have found once I start down the path of workarounds, it inevitable slows me down in the long run.

But if you MUST...  Create a new family using the "generic annotation" template.  Go into family types and create a new parameter.  Change it to an "instance parameter", also change the parameter type to "text."  Call it "User Note", or "Drawing Number"  any other name you see fit.  See jpg. below.   This would be the equivalent in cad to a block attribute (see my disclaimer, above).  Next place a label in the family in any configuration.  I created another parameter and label called "user comment" in the example below. see jpg. below.  Then load to your project.  The annotation behaves like an autocad block, with attributes.  You can change the values of the attributes either by double clicking on the text, or in the properties dialogue box, you will see the fields to enter the text you want.  See jpg. below, i used the same family to create three different instances.  This can be done in almost any way, to emulate elevation tags, keynote tags, or whatever, how they would function in cad.

 

Let me know if this is what you were talking about?

 

 

 

 

 



Attached Images

122642_USER_NOTE.jpg122642_PLACE_LABEL.jpg122642_LOAD_TO_PROJECT.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 29, 2013 at 6:50:28 PM | Dummy Tag

#3

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


 

Thanks RevitMaestro!

Yes this is what I was looking for. ( Was trying with tags template before, very bad)

Question: Should I leave the family category as "Generic Annotation" or change it depending on the tag. Does it matter?

Seems I  continue insert the "annotation block" as a normal family anyway but it does scale properly to the drawing view.

Note:

I wanted this as plan B when I'm stuck, I understand this is not best practice but can be usefull (in a limited fashion).

I don't plan on anotating whole drawings sets like this. Just certain peices. I figure mistakes can be no worse then a CAD

set of drawings. Its my first Revit project so hopefully you don't loose sleep about people like me distroying the program. Puh

I'm still learning. I'm also the only person in my office working in Revit. So if I get stuck, project stops.

Thanks for your help!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 30, 2013 at 8:54:14 AM | Dummy Tag

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


We use an IDF (Invisible detail family - detail category) for this situation.  This family can be created using type based or instance based parameters. Originally, the family only had an invisible line circle that would show up when rolled over.  We have since added a detail sub-category - called "Hidden Family - Turn Off" that is red and turned off in all views by project - object styles.  When needing to use this tool, we simply turn on that sub-category.  ((( Becaue of AutoDESK's dummy down of view templates, this process is now somewhat problematic.))

 

This family will host keynote tags in drafting views.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 30, 2013 at 10:42:20 AM | Dummy Tag

#5

VonBraun


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 10, 2013
40 Posts
No Rating


WWHub, interesting concept


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 28, 2015 at 8:46:26 AM | Dummy Tag

#6

Natasha00123


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 13, 2011
1 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone have one they can share or know of one I can pick up? ...I am having a tough time making this. For whatever reason, when I insert my dummy tag in a new project (to make sure it works) ...it doesn't show. I can see it in the Families, but when I try to drag it in any view/plan/elevation it won't show.

Thanks,

N.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 28, 2015 at 9:48:29 AM | Dummy Tag

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Do you have the tag category on in those views?   The element needs to be on in VG and the annotation tag category has to be on.

 

BTW - Under the annotation tab, tag by category would be the place to use this tag.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 25, 2016 at 10:07:19 AM | Dummy Tag

#8

gmguerin


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 26, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 25, 2016 at 1:33:50 PM | Dummy Tag

Thread Post Kudo! #9

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Yes, I do not like dummy tags at all, however they have their places. I have only a couple of them.

Here is one, I used "Generic Annotation" family template, and added labels (instance parameters).

Very simple, easy to create, can be placed on the sheet or in a veiw (which will be scaled per the scale of the view).



This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 25, 2016 at 8:33:35 PM | Dummy Tag

#10

gmguerin


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 26, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you. Here is an equipment tag I made. The leaders work great. It is like having an annotative AutoCAD block with good leader attachments.

Best regards,



This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 25, 2016 at 9:08:15 PM | Dummy Tag

#11

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


 

Try do not using dummy tag for equipment.

Our office standards have FF&E (Furniture, Fixture & Equipment) sheets. See thread below.

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=33607

If you create it properly, you would really enjoy the power of Revit. That's why I created only a couple of dummy tags.

There are lots of annotation templates in Revit, please spend time to understand them and modify them to suit your need.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 27, 2022 at 7:41:27 PM | Dummy Tag

#12

b0bByb33


active

Joined: Sat, May 24, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Well, they are still useful sometimes, and RevitMaestro's method still works.  I just made this dummy door tag in less than 5 minutes for the duplicate door elevations in my door schedule. The text seems to come in upside down but no prob really ...



This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dummy Elevation Tag

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, May 8, 2013 at 7:54:06 AM

1

Moving elevation tag updates in every plan - Linked??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 3, 2011 at 8:48:33 AM

3

REVIT 2009 - CAN A SECTION TAIL BE VARIED WITH AN INSTANCE PARAMETER?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Feb 28, 2009 at 8:52:17 AM

0

Dummy Callout Heads

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 28, 2014 at 3:35:50 PM

5

Ceiling tag for exposed structure

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 8, 2007 at 11:13:27 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

2010317

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152196

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3741

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights