RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

276 Users Online (122 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> stair help with tread AND railing

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 7:00:15 PM | stair help with tread AND railing

#1

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


So I have two pictures. 

I have set the stair to go to the landing below. a simple straight run. 5'2" long, with 6 treads and 7 risers. 

I set the stair rules. and I get a stair thats as short as possible. less than the 5'2 i need. I extend the line and it adds treads and risers instead of extending the threads to fill the run. then I moved the boundaries instead. got 7 rises but the railing is now horizontal. please help me...I just want a stair that I can set the rise and it will fill in the run with the desired number of treads...I cant do it!

 

 



Attached Images

121781_Capture.JPG121781_Capture2.JPG

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 7:28:09 PM | stair help with tread AND railing

#2

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Stairs will behave differently depending on the version of REVIT and the method.

 

Not sure about the tread rised situation but the railing is not sloped becasue it does not fall within the width of the stair. The railing sketch can have an offset that will result in placing the outside the width of the stair but the actual sketch line must be within the stair width. Click the railing, edit the sketch and nudge it within the stair width and it will slope.

 

Also make sure the railing is 'hosted' (re-hosted) by the stair.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 7:31:01 PM | stair help with tread AND railing

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Sorry - I don't understand what you are saying.

 

First, are you doing stair by sketch or component?  What kind of stair is this?

 

Tread size is controlled by your stair properties.  If doing stair by sketch, the number of treads is determined by how many risers you have.    I doubt the dimension you show is between stair treads but tread to your landing. 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 7:50:44 PM | stair help with tread AND railing

#4

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


  revit 2011 btw; The railing was over, nudging it worked like a charm. 

@hub: the stair is made by sketching the run. setting the desired numbers of risers (to 7 in this case)...so the tread depth should be fluid. also its an existing stair and I just want to draw it properly like it is.

so this stair has max riser and min tread values set so that almost any stair will work, but it still has the tread depth locked in the properties (why?); AND it doesnt correspond with the actual actual tread depth shown by the dimension circled in red. also, the actual risers is 8! not 7.... 

ie. as the blue line gets bigger (to span the opening in the floor) the stair adds risers instead of making the treads longer to span the distance

Sorry this is all rambling.

What I need is a 5'2" long stair run that falls 4'-4.5" it has 6 treads and seven risers. t: 10-21/64" and r: 7-1/2" 

I cant get revit to draw that


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 9:09:54 PM | stair help with tread AND railing

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


The actual riser height is always going to be the difference between the top and bottom elevation of the stair / the # risers.

 

It also depands on if you set the 'begin with riser' and 'end with riser' of the stair type properties. 

 

The tread depth should be what ever you sketch it at.



Edited on: Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 4:13:18 PM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 12:21:26 PM | stair help with tread AND railing

#6

mansell5


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 14, 2009
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


g'day warchitect.

in your first diagram you have dimensioned in plan the going of the tread, not the actual tread (assuming there is an overhang or "toe" to the treads.) so the overhang value is the difference between actual and going value.

in oz, if we have a stair with 250mm going and a 25mm toe, our actual tread size is 275mm, etc

 

cheers

geoff


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 5:01:42 PM | stair help with tread AND railing

#7

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Cool thanks for all the help. Was able to do everything. but I think I stumbles through it pretty badly. lol

still. measuring from one nosing of the stair to the other should get you the same as measuring the face if the rider to face of the riser. 

but I guess my question really is this:

when you start a stair you set the begin and end levels. then you start drawing a run. but no matter what, the run always is some set number..why doesnt it let you draw the run line as long as you want, then divide the length by one less than the risers..(ie you have 20 long feet to fill, and you have to draw 5 risers at 6" say, so each tread should be streatched out 5 feet. 4 treads at 5' = 20')but the comp doesnt let you do that...is that not right?

 

 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 5:23:08 PM | stair help with tread AND railing

#8

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Don't use the Run method.

 

Draw the risers and boundary seperately. Then you can place things any where you want.

 

By using the Run method it follows the Tread and Riser rules of the Stair Type. (click the Edit Type button to access this information.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Baluster per tread on curved stair

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 4, 2013 at 7:18:52 PM

3

How to model a non-typical length stair tread for the top tread

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 25, 2016 at 7:55:19 PM

4

Baluster extensions at bottom of stair runs.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 16, 2015 at 2:53:56 AM

3

2015 use baluster per tread on stair (with no top rail?)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 3, 2015 at 9:50:57 PM

3

Stair Riser/Tread Number in Multistory Stairs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 13, 2016 at 2:47:54 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1667750

Objects:

22120

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4392

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights