RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

355 Users Online (187 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Total area of rooms in a department vs. programmed area for that department

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 6:21:58 PM | Total area of rooms in a department vs. programmed area for that department

#1

kkozak2


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 11, 2011
6 Posts
No Rating


I've searched the web all morning and read through multiple threads on multiple forums, but still no answer. Either I'm searching the wrong thing or it doesn't exist. I thought it was simple...

I'm designing a building. I need to provide XXX square feet for each department. Each department has several rooms.

I've created a room schedule that lists the departments and the total area for all the rooms in each department (does not list every room).

All I want to do is compare that total area by the required area and show a percentage. (wherther I'm at 70% or 110%). I can do it for each room individually, but not by total for each department.

Aside from manually doing it in excell, anyone have any suggestions on how this might be done in Revit 2013?

Thank you in advance.

K.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 7:41:21 PM | Total area of rooms in a department vs. programmed area for that department

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 358 Votes


You can get a total area by department but I doubt you can do the rest of what you want.  There is no way to use the total you got in another calculation.  And there is no field available to host your "required area".


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 9:01:53 PM | Total area of rooms in a department vs. programmed area for that department

#3

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


This took some thinking but I got it to work.

 

I created a Key Schedule for Rooms and a few line items that included the target required areas. Then included that field in my room schedule but in order to get it to work you need to Itemize every instance. Then I added a new field named 'percentage' with a Calculated formula to compare each room area with the target area and then using a Footer totalled them up. Lastly I changed the units format of the percentage field to drop the m2. See attached.  

 

Here's the project file > area-key-plan



Edited on: Tue, Jul 2, 2013 at 4:18:24 PM

Attached Images

121791_KEY-SCHEDULES.PNG

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 1:54:11 PM | Total area of rooms in a department vs. programmed area for that department

#4

kkozak2


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 11, 2011
6 Posts
No Rating


Thanks guys! I'm not entirely sure how, but I got it to work. I know I had to add the Required Area value to each room.



Attached Images

121820_Sched01.jpg121820_Sched02.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 2:49:19 PM | Total area of rooms in a department vs. programmed area for that department

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Good work, so to improve it a little more you could control the Required Area values with a 'Key Schedule. That way all required areas can be controlled by Department and all in one place.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 4:12:20 PM | Total area of rooms in a department vs. programmed area for that department

#6

kkozak2


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 11, 2011
6 Posts
No Rating


I will have to look into the Key Schedules a bit more. I used them years ago, but very briefly. Thanks for the tip.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Room/Area Schedule - Getting Area Totals by Department

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 20, 2015 at 12:38:38 PM

1

How to tag multiple rooms (composing one unit) with total area?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 31, 2015 at 5:45:39 PM

4

Room area calculation

Community >> Newbies

Sun, Nov 25, 2012 at 8:28:44 PM

1

Schedule Rooms Within areas of a specific area plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 25, 2013 at 6:59:18 PM

1

Rentable vs Gross area, gross area in practice

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 13, 2012 at 4:15:27 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1511169

Objects:

21248

Forum Posts:

151236

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 14.4854

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights