RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

173 Users Online (73 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit link dwg issues

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jun 28, 2013 at 1:25:02 PM | Revit link dwg issues

#1

dande


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 23, 2009
14 Posts
No Rating


When I link a dwg by origin the file comes in looking fine but in the wrong position. When I link by shared coordinates the dwg come in at the correct position but not of the lines are straight and it looks terrible. Anybody else have this issue and anybody find a work around


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 28, 2013 at 3:57:40 PM | Revit link dwg issues

#2

Shatner86


active
Shatner86 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 24, 2012
2 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Hi Dande,

I came across a issue when using linked CAD files from architects. The file was inserted by shared co-ord and the dwg was an export from a non autoCAD software. Maybe Microstation.

Anyway the question i wanted to ask was whether this was occuring across the entire file or are the issues with the lines in certain instances? I found this occurred with our files when there were blocks used within the file. Also what version of REVIT are using?

 

If possible put the file up and I'll try and have a look on monday and see if i get the same issue.


-----------------------------------

"Try not to become a man of success, but rather to become a man of value"

-Albert Einstein

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 28, 2013 at 4:30:43 PM | Revit link dwg issues

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


It sounds like the CAD file is slightly rotated in your Revit view. That could be if someone incorrectly did the shared positioning or if your view needs to rotate slightly to align with the CAD.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 1, 2013 at 11:30:57 AM | Revit link dwg issues

#4

dande


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 23, 2009
14 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your feedback. The file is an autocad file. I'll try exploding it before I bring it in and see if that makes a difference.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 1, 2013 at 1:09:19 PM | Revit link dwg issues

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


DON'T explode CAD in a Revit model.  VERY BAD idea.  Always clean up CAD in a cleanup project then copy paste the corrected Revit items into your project.  Read what I suggest you do in this thread:

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=17194


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Link Cad issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 4:28:03 PM

2

Export 3d DWG issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 28, 2013 at 1:27:02 PM

3

Trouble Turning On/Off DWG link

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 18, 2011 at 3:17:03 AM

1

import/link, manage links...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 1, 2008 at 4:46:16 PM

6

dwg in Revit Link not visable

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 4, 2012 at 5:43:40 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1794554

Objects:

22510

Forum Posts:

151983

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6270

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights