RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

171 Users Online (44 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> looking for a video card recommendation

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jun 25, 2013 at 12:39:57 AM | looking for a video card recommendation

#1

danezeq


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 5, 2013
78 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


hi there,

 

i dealing with realy heavy revit porject, which really hard to navigate inside.

i discussed this revit speed issure a lot on technical forum, got all kind of suggestions like using workset etc..

 

i thought about upgrade some components in my pc..

right now i have i quite nice system bought in 2011.

motherboard: gigabyte x58a-ud3r

cpu: i7 950

ram: 18g (1333MHZ)

video: Geforce GTS 450 (1024MB)

 

when i go to reviit option menu it says my video card is unknow and never been tested with revit.

i thought that world be the first thing to upgrade. what do you say?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 25, 2013 at 7:21:00 PM | looking for a video card recommendation

#2

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 25 Votes


Depends on your budget:

A lot of people have had tremendous luck with nVidia.  Personally I've owned a quadro 4000 and 5000 and now I have dual Quadro K4000.  If you do any iRay rendering for 3dsMax, I really recommend that.  Quadros are the perfect blend of performance for both 3dsmax and Revit.  Plus they don't zap your power supply with these 200watt+ monster cards.  Autodesk has a partnership with Nvidia, so I recommend sticking with them.  They did just release the GTX 760 - 2Gb (for $250) and in theory that card should work, but also has never been tested, nor will it be tested.

Quadro K4000 has yet to be tested with Revit, (but it will be qualified hardware eventually) so you will get a similar warning.  It works on my system 100%.

Dell T5500

Dual Xeon X5650 (12threads x 2) - 24Gb - 1333Mhz RAM - 256Gb - Samsung 840 series SSD - Dual Quadro K4000's.

Windows 7 pro - 64bit - Revit 2012/13


-----------------------------------

RB Cameron

3D Medical Equipment

Download Revit Healthcare Models Now

Download Other Revit + 3dsMax Models Here

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 26, 2013 at 11:34:07 PM | looking for a video card recommendation

#3

danezeq


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 5, 2013
78 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


thanks for your answer.

you think Geforce GTS 450 (1024MB) is good for working with revit? how is it compared to the nvidia video card you mentioned?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 27, 2013 at 3:59:02 PM | looking for a video card recommendation

#4

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 25 Votes


We've had tremendously good luck with our Quadro 2000 and 4000 here at the office.  I have had zero faults with them (as long as i'm using the correct drivers!) and my new K4000's have yet to even struggle with 300Mb files.  I have 100% confidence in them.  Crying$800 each on newegg.com)

The GTX 760 is "based" on the same kepler architecture as the K4000 but costs 1/3 as much.  I just don't know enough about the new 700 series GTX cards from nVidia to make a fair assessment on whether or not they'd work well with Revit.  Rest assured though, Autodesk does not, has not and more likely will not test those types of cards with any of their products.  So if you go cheap, you will always get that "error" saying your graphics card is unsupported.  It IS supported, just not "qualified hardware."  I'm 99% sure that switching to it would improve your performance dramatically from the old GTS 450 for the simple fact that its twice the ram (2048Gb).

Either do a google search for "Autodesk Revit Qualified Hardware" and type in your specs. or here is the link:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?siteID=123112&id=18844534&results=1&stype=graphic&suite_group=103&release=2013&edition=2&os=8192&manuf=1&opt=1

Windows 7 - 64bit I presume?

 

you should be able to pick up a Quadro 4000 (2Gb) card for roughly $390-$450 on ebay.  Which is basically the price of a GTX 760-770.


-----------------------------------

RB Cameron

3D Medical Equipment

Download Revit Healthcare Models Now

Download Other Revit + 3dsMax Models Here

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 27, 2013 at 4:12:44 PM | looking for a video card recommendation

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


For our office, we have found that the simple NVIDIA driver EVGA, 1GB cards at $50 work just fine.  We don't do a lot of rendering but even then, we don't have problems.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 17, 2013 at 2:20:02 AM | looking for a video card recommendation

#6

johnpanda


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 17, 2013
1 Posts
No Rating


Hi RB Cameron,

We have just received a K4000 card and we are starting to see issues when pushing the boundaries of files around 450Mb.

The issues we are facing is that we are seeing multiple displays of objects when zooming in and out. It appears like it isn't clearing the regeneration of objects as it increases and decreases their size. Mainly we are experiencing that with dimensions and text but it is also effecting modelled components like walls etc.

Can I please ask you what driver you have installed as this seems to be the cause of this kind of thing normally.

Thanks in advance

John Panda

CAD Manager

Melbourne, Australia



Attached Images

122218_K4000_Driver_Details.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 23, 2013 at 4:06:43 PM | looking for a video card recommendation

#7

rbcameron2


active
rbcameron2 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Oct 19, 2008
101 Posts
4 Stars: 25 Votes


JPanda

I try to stay on top of whatever the latest driver nvidia offers.  in this case its the 320.x now.  For Revit 2013.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/quadro-tesla-grid-win8-win7-winvista-64bit-320.49-whql-driver.html

As a side note, I typically don't run over 400Mb on my files, so do whatever you can to take that unwanted file size down.  There are a few good tips on file size just by googling or searching AUGI.com.  I have a good idea what you're talking about though, and if your 3D view is doing something goofy, I suggest deleting it and creating a whole new 3D view from scratch, not duplication.  That solved one co-worker's issue immediately.  Also, this occurs in plan views too.  Toggle the "use hardware acceleration" checkbox in options, as well as anti-aliasing.  I also changed my background colors to Blue, Blue and Orange with semi-transparency turned on.  Basically Windows is fighting Revit for control of who's in front of the screen.  We had a similar (maybe the same?) issue when windows rolled out an update about 3 or 4 months ago.

Also, CAD tends to do weird things to Revit 2011, 12, 13 and not sure about 2014 yet.  Not sure about what version of Revit you have or the other potential conflicts you have in your model though.  Have you been crashing or is it more of an annoyance sort of thing?

 

EDIT: Is it doing something like this?  see attached



Edited on: Tue, Jul 23, 2013 at 5:10:04 PM

Attached Images

122403_transparency.JPG

-----------------------------------

RB Cameron

3D Medical Equipment

Download Revit Healthcare Models Now

Download Other Revit + 3dsMax Models Here

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 3, 2013 at 12:04:52 PM | looking for a video card recommendation

#8

samjohnsonus


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 3, 2013
8 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


NVIDIA driver.. will be best go for it.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Video Card Recommendation?

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Oct 7, 2014 at 11:50:10 PM

12

Video Card

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 10, 2010 at 5:44:50 PM

1

Revit 2010 Video Cards

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 8, 2009 at 7:36:13 AM

6

better video card = better rendering? (revit architecture 2009)

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Sep 30, 2008 at 2:36:49 AM

4

unknown video card

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 4:32:12 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1842333

Objects:

22620

Forum Posts:

152043

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1721

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights