RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

257 Users Online (111 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Analysis Wires in Bespoke Family

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 20, 2013 at 7:59:26 AM | Analysis Wires in Bespoke Family

#1

MartinGT


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
38 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I have created a couple of families and want to include them for analysis.  How do I add analysis wires to a bespoke family?


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 20, 2013 at 6:18:55 PM | Analysis Wires in Bespoke Family

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


I think you need to eloborate further.  What type of analysis are you referring to? What type of Families are you creating?

 

This is a good link for building performance analysis   http://www.iesve.com/corporate/media-center/white-papers/general/building_performance_analysis_using_revit.pdf

 

You can add all of the design data you want to a family- Identity Data, Electrical Loads, Dimensions etc.

 

"add analysis wires to a bespoke family?"  I don't know what this is.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, May 20, 2013 at 6:28:21 PM | Analysis Wires in Bespoke Family

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


I had to look bespoke up because I to don't have a clue....

"Bespoke is an English word meaning "made to a buyer's specification." Historically, the term applied to tailored clothing, footwear and other apparel, implying measurement and fitting. The opposite of the term "bespoke product" is "mass-produced."

 

If that was the intended use then it is a poor descriptor.   Maybe light fixture or something similar would have been better.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 23, 2013 at 10:12:18 AM | Analysis Wires in Bespoke Family

#4

MartinGT


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
38 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Stop reading forums and read some books, it increases your vocabulary chaps.I have sorted out the problem.  I made a couple of bespoke beam familes and made them orginally from the generic model template family and changed them through the family category to a structural framing family.

I sorted it by making the family via the structural framing family which adds analysis wires in it.



Edited on: Thu, May 23, 2013 at 5:12:48 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 23, 2013 at 12:24:51 PM | Analysis Wires in Bespoke Family

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Now you really confused us.  We don't usually have wires in beam families. ......

...Or is this another colloquialism like bespoke?


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 23, 2013 at 12:25:48 PM | Analysis Wires in Bespoke Family

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


I read plenty of books and still have no clue what a "bespoke beam family" is, congrats on figuring it out anyway.  If you would have told us you were trying to use the generic model template to create a beam you would have recieved an answer that stated it needed to be done as a structural framing family to be correct.  Communication is key, without it we are left guessing... no matter how many books we read, reading minds is not possible.

 

WWHub I believe he means analitical lines, not actually modeled wires.. however I could be wrong.

Edited on: Thu, May 23, 2013 at 7:26:53 AM



Edited on: Thu, May 23, 2013 at 7:27:19 AM

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 23, 2013 at 12:33:11 PM | Analysis Wires in Bespoke Family

#7

MartinGT


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
38 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Yes I do mean analysis lines Smile


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Viewing wires on others views then Lighting plan

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 1, 2016 at 9:02:48 PM

3

REVIT LT - best electrical practice for wires?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 28, 2016 at 5:52:34 PM

0

Unable to start robot analysis structure (HELP NEEDED)

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 29, 2014 at 3:11:09 PM

1

parameters for embedded families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 22, 2009 at 7:34:27 PM

1

Browser organization for Spaces for Energy Analysis, MEP

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 9, 2013 at 6:50:04 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1692907

Objects:

22218

Forum Posts:

151749

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9579

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights