RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

189 Users Online (81 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Editing & Drafting with floor levels Revit 2012

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 12:22:57 AM | Editing & Drafting with floor levels Revit 2012

#1

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


I am creating a group of 3 x 2 storey apartments all alongside each other, 2 are attached & one stand alone.

They are on slightly sloping ground, so no 2 is about 300mm (approx 1'-0") higher than no 1 & no 3 is another 300mm (1'-0") again. The floor levels need to be addressed as I layout each apt, but also the walls, doors, windows etc etc. This is a pain in the you know where. I am sure I am going about this the wrong way as Revit has to have an easy way around this. Or at least there must be an easier way for users like me to use Revit in this situation??

All help will be much appreciated. 


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 12:54:26 AM | Editing & Drafting with floor levels Revit 2012

#2

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


I should add that I want to show the three apartments in one floor plan for each floor/level, i.e. ground floor plan will show all three apt ground floors & the north elevation will show all three apts in the one view.


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 12:37:21 PM | Editing & Drafting with floor levels Revit 2012

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Your solution:

  1. Do have seperate levels for each unit and give them unique names. 
  2. Limit the extends of these levels to the units in elevation views.
  3. Do create seperate "working" floor plans for each level of each unit where you can easily work on model components with them associating to the correct level.
  4. Create one sheeted floor plan view for your sheet.
  5. Use plan regions in the sheeted view to control view ranges for each area.
  6. Only annotate from the sheeted view - don't model here because the workplane may not be correct.

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 3, 2013 at 2:02:28 AM | Editing & Drafting with floor levels Revit 2012

#4

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


Thanks Hub 

I think I have it.

  1. I already have my Ground Floor Plan in my Prj Browser, then I duplicated the view & called it Ground Floor Unit 3 which I then cropped to that unit floor plan so I have to stay working in that view when I'm in it, can't stray!!
  2. Did that with the other 2 Units & then with the level 1 units. Level 2 will be the roof(s) so may need to do it at that level aswell becaus they will have different roofs.
  3. Q: I have a level 0 which is the level at which is (I think) the level at which the surveyors plan is at, which by the way is now a very nice 3d site topography. But my level at Ground floor plan seems to want to put the base of the wall at that level (0) that i cannot seem to control except by specifying the wall base constraint in the wall properties panel each time I draw a wall.  

-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 3, 2013 at 1:05:58 PM | Editing & Drafting with floor levels Revit 2012

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


You may have donee this incorrectly.

 

Floor plans should be associated with levels.  Creating them from View/Plan is the best way to do this.  If your two units have different levels for the ground floor then they need to be different rather than copied.  You can call them both "GROND FLOOR PLAN" even if their physical elevation is different.  The levels might be Ground Floor Unit 1, Ground Floor Unit 2 ....etc

 

If you have a combined ground floor plan, then you pick one unit's level or the other's then add plan regions where necessary.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2012 will not display tool bars properly when editing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Oct 6, 2012 at 12:14:16 PM

7

DRAFTING VIEWS ON MORE THAN ONE SHEET (REVIT 2012)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 23, 2012 at 1:42:46 PM

1

Cannot see my floor levels

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 10, 2015 at 5:42:26 PM

3

Revit Architecture 2012 - Copy/Mirror Changes Component levels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 6, 2013 at 8:01:45 PM

2

Levels missing Revit 2012 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 28, 2015 at 8:29:41 PM

19

Site Stats

Members:

1474223

Objects:

21057

Forum Posts:

151021

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.2924

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights