RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

252 Users Online (120 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Stacked Walls and Dimensions

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 1, 2013 at 11:10:56 PM | Stacked Walls and Dimensions

#1

MongooseST1


active
MongooseST1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2007
77 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I have constructed a residential structure with some basic 2x6 walls. I then created a stacked wall from the client driven changes, which I then changed the properties of the old wall to the new stacked wall.

All my dimensions were lost. Now when I go back and try to move witness lines to make them into dimensions and there are no witness lines....??

Moreover, my overall dimensions of the structure obviously changed by the insertion of the new stacked walls. How can one preserve the overall dimensions of the structure footprint and allow REVIT to maintain the outside dimensions when inserting walls of differing materials and thicknesses.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 12:18:02 PM | Stacked Walls and Dimensions

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Did you try locking some of the dimensions?


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 1:20:59 PM | Stacked Walls and Dimensions

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


"...my overall dimensions of the structure obviously changed by the insertion of the new stacked walls..." << Of course, you changed the wall and did not tell Revit how you wanted to recocile the difference between what was there and what you were replacing it with.  You need to pay attention to wall location line.  Click on any wall and it will givge you this property. 

 

If your exterior walls were set to anything other than "exterior" for this property and if the new wall is thicker, well then, the building gets larger.  If you don't want that to happen, pick one exterior wall, select all instances, change this property to exterior then replace all of them with your new wall.

 

Understand what stacked walls are.  They are "stacked" individual walls placed as a group.  Each portion of the stack will dimension differently so don't expect all of your dimensions to work on every level when the wall is no longer there but a different portion of the stack is.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 3:32:46 PM | Stacked Walls and Dimensions

#4

MongooseST1


active
MongooseST1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2007
77 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Revit/enu/2013/Help/00001-Revit_He0/0328-Build_th328/0330-Architec330/0331-Walls331/0336-Modifyin336/0356-Working_356/0357-Defining357

 

Autodesk in the HELP section of REVIT 2013 explains the stacjked wall in link above, see enclsoed illustration. 

I am aware that each portion of the stack will dimension differently so don't expect all of your dimensions to work on every level BUT at the top of foundation wall for example is established at a particular dimension that CANNOT MOVE. When I change the wall to a stacked wall I want to maintain the OUTSIDE edge of the stacked wall to the outside edge of the foundation so the dimensions overall of the structure do not change.

Right now the stacked wall somehow jumps out over the foundation wall to the outside edge of the stacked wall is greater than the foundation. How do i ensure that I maintain outside edge to outside edge of both walls so the overall dimensions of the structure do not change? 

Another note when I change my regualr walls to a stacked walls the witness lines do not pop up when I select the walls so I can adjust and apply dimensions, what is wioth that?



Attached Images

119420_stacked_wall.png

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 3:45:53 PM | Stacked Walls and Dimensions

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


How is your foundation wall set in relation to the wall above?  Center of wall or center of core maybe?  Maybe it would be better to either include this wall in the stack or just pull it down to disengage it.  Or....

Make sure both walls are set to exterior face, then align the two wall's exterior face prior to changing to the stack.


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 3, 2013 at 4:46:23 PM | Stacked Walls and Dimensions

#6

MongooseST1


active
MongooseST1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 21, 2007
77 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Another note when I change my regualr walls to a stacked walls the witness lines do not pop up when I select the walls so I can adjust and apply dimensions, what is wioth that?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Temporary dimensions and stacked walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 9, 2011 at 2:47:10 PM

2

stacked walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 10, 2018 at 2:55:14 PM

4

stacked walls

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 11:51:10 PM

3

Scheduling of Stacked Walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 7:16:01 PM

0

Wall Tags not unique for stacked walls [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 16, 2016 at 3:17:50 PM

17

Site Stats

Members:

1692896

Objects:

22218

Forum Posts:

151749

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9904

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights