RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

231 Users Online (93 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> possible to delete project base point?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Apr 29, 2013 at 3:57:58 PM | possible to delete project base point?

#1

SteveB


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 25, 2003
411 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


i am trying to find the project base point.   I inserted an autocad block with a crosshairs at 0,0 using "origin to origin" and it landed where I thought it would.   visibility settings are "on" in revit for project base point.   but there is no project base point symbol there.  Is it possible to have deleted it?  Can understand why I can't see it.  is there something else that controls its visibility?


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 29, 2013 at 6:48:57 PM | possible to delete project base point?

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Is it just hidden?  No it is not possible to delete it.  Go to a 3D view and turn off crop region and turn on Reveal Hidden Elements, zoom to extents to see if you can find it. 


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 29, 2013 at 7:04:22 PM | possible to delete project base point?

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Revit's origin and project base point are NOT one in the same. And .... Revit is NOT CAD so quit thinking like that.

 

There was a really good article on Revit's positioning / shared coordinates in AUGI EDGE by Steve Stafford - winter 2010.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 29, 2013 at 7:12:48 PM | possible to delete project base point?

#4

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Chances are the Project Base Point is turned off. Generally it's only turned on in a site plan.

 

Go to a floor plan, turn off the actually cropping (not the crop region) so you can see forever in plan.

Go into visibility graphics overrides (VG), scrooll down to Site under Model and make sure that Site and subcategory 'Project Base Point' is turned on.

 

Then in a plan view do a ZF (zoom to fit). Then start looking for the pink colored Project Base Point symbol.



Edited on: Mon, Apr 29, 2013 at 2:13:20 PM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 29, 2013 at 8:22:31 PM | possible to delete project base point?

#5

SteveB


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 25, 2003
411 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


wwhub... the tip about inserting a 0,0 autocad to revit comes from the AUGI article..http://digitaleditiononline.com/display_article.php?id=168099

dgcad ... The project base point is ON

 

teafoe5:  I tried looking in iso and there it was.  somehow the elevations were set to 1st floor at [-]500' and project base point was way above the view.  done.  Thanks all. 

 


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 29, 2013 at 8:58:58 PM | possible to delete project base point?

#6

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Yes, good work. I agree and I naturally go to a 3D view when looking for stuff. Force of habit.

 

The only additional tip I can offer future readers based on the evidence of this thread is when in a plan view set the Top, Bottom and View Depth of the View range limits to 'Unlimited'. Then do a ZF.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Project base point moved after I created levels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 8, 2016 at 7:27:49 PM

6

Shared Project Base Point

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Mar 16, 2010 at 2:45:58 PM

6

Project Base Point

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 2, 2009 at 11:24:59 AM

3

Level that reads both Project Base Point and Project Survey Point

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 9, 2015 at 2:39:37 PM

2

copy with base point in revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 11, 2012 at 12:03:41 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1534308

Objects:

21326

Forum Posts:

151334

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3026

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights