RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

232 Users Online (101 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Custom Light Fixture

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 4:04:46 PM | Custom Light Fixture

#1

DevonK


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 8, 2012
48 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Would anyone be able to explain how to create a custom light fixture that is hosted to a linked architectural model. I created a custom light family and tried the "cut with voids tool". It doesent seem to be cutting through the cieling it is hosted too. If you need more information, please let me know. I will respond immediately. Thanks



Attached Images

118922_4-23-2013_12-03-37_PM.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 4:09:03 PM | Custom Light Fixture

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


No family can cut a linked model.  Both host and family has to be in the same model.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 4:12:06 PM | Custom Light Fixture

#3

DevonK


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 8, 2012
48 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Darn, so how would I go about keeping a light fixture in the MEP model and being able to show up correctly in the Arch model with cutting a wall or ceiling.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 9:33:18 PM | Custom Light Fixture

#4

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Not pretty

 

You need to re-model the walls (copy monitor perhaps) and the ceiling (copy and paste) into your model.

 

One way or the other you can't cut a whole in a linked model.



Edited on: Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 4:33:38 PM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

trying to make custom light fixture w/ 2 light sources - need help

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:23:45 AM

4

custom light fixture, Revit 2009

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 11, 2011 at 3:28:44 PM

2

Opaque light fixture not emitting light

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 9:30:34 AM

3

Light fixture doesn't produce light

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 7, 2008 at 5:39:38 PM

3

Aligning IES with light fixture

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 12, 2014 at 3:17:59 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1651536

Objects:

22099

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4088

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights