RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

193 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 1:30:58 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#1

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I keep getting the error message that tells me that I need to select another view, that the clipboard contents can't be pasted in the new drafting view.

Since these are all (2D drafting items) lines, filled areas, text, and dimensions, I am confused why they cannot be copied and pasted to a new project's drafting view.  As far as I know, I have not selected any of the project 3D components when I copied.

Any suggestions?


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 1:53:07 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Instead of trying to copy and paste why dont you use the Insert from File tool?  Its under the Insert tab, from there you can select whatever view you want to insert into the new project.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 1:58:35 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Teafoe's suggestion is the best process if you need the view.

 

True 2D drafting items can always be cut/pasted between projects and they can pasted from a drafting view into a model view.

 

So if this doesn't work, then I think you have a model view.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 2:02:59 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#4

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I created a new drafting view in the new project and attempted to paste into it.  When I go to "Insert from file" I get the family folder locations.  How do I select a drafting view from another project when using "Insert from file?"  Do I need to copy the drafting view into a family and then insert that?


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 2:10:34 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#5

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


From you help

  1. Click Insert tabImport panelInsert from File drop-downInsert Views from File.
  2. In the Open dialog, select a project file, and click Open.

    The Insert Views dialog opens, which displays views that are saved in the project.

  3. From the list, select an option for views to display.
  4. Select the views to insert, and click OK.

    Revit creates a new drafting view with all the 2D components and text. If you have duplicate type names, the type name and properties from the current project are used, and a warning message displays.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 2:29:08 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

Thread Post Kudo! #6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Hogomodo....Your problem is what were you copying from?

 

      Project view to Project view copy/paste Rules

      Yes >> Drafting to Drafting

      Yes >> Drafting to Model

       NO >> Model to anything


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 2:35:13 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#7

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


You are correct as usual.  I finally realized I was copying from a "Callout" not a drafting view.  I guess I need to export it as an image and then past THAT into a drafting view unless you have a better suggestion.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 2:47:14 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Export the view to CAD file.   Then it will import as drafting.  You should have under extensions tools "freeze drawings" which esentially is the same process but automated.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 4, 2014 at 8:34:53 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#9

craigj


active

Joined: Sun, May 31, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Regarding the insert view from file option; how would I go about importing families within that view so that all of the type properties/options copy over to the new project? I am currently importing the views and only the visible option is imported into the new project.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 4, 2014 at 8:46:16 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


To copy a family with settings, copy/paste into the project.  Have both files open side by side.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 4, 2014 at 9:03:41 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#11

craigj


active

Joined: Sun, May 31, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


I tried the way you just described and still came up with the same problem of type properties that are visible are only copied into the new project.

Hopefully the attached files show what I'm meaning. 1.png shows the file that the window family was copied from with all of the type options, and 2.png shows what is actually copied across to the new project.

 



Attached Images

129373_1.PNG129373_2.png

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 4, 2014 at 9:08:17 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


They both appear to be the same family and type and that is what you asked for.

 

If you want all the types, then click on the family, pick edit the family, then load that into your project.  Now you will see all the types.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 4, 2014 at 10:08:13 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#13

craigj


active

Joined: Sun, May 31, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Ok I was hoping there was an easier way as importing every family related to details into a project is time consuming.

Edited on: Tue, Mar 4, 2014 at 4:10:06 PM



Edited on: Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 1:33:21 PM

Attached Images

129375_1.PNG129375_2.png

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 1:19:56 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


This now is a differnt question. 

Yes - use transfer project standards.  Read about that in your HELP.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 16, 2015 at 6:01:48 PM | Would like to copy a drafting view from one project to another.

#15

ETBass


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 30, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to insert multiple drafting views from one project into my current project.  All views ARE Drafting views and not callouts.  For multiple selections, and in some cases even a singular selection, I get an "Unable to copy elements" error message.  This also applies to Sheets where all views on the sheet are indeed Drafting views, with no model elements in view.  I have had success in past with earlier versions of Revit, but for some reason, 2015 is causing problems.

Any thought on what might be the problem?  I have checked a variety of views.  A couple have imported dwg files within the drafting view, but I have had success in bringing over another view that also has.  As best I can tell, Inserting multiple views is marginal at best.  Single inserts mostly work, but if I am trying to bring in 30+ details, doing one at a time seems pointless and very time consuming.

Greg


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Save Drafting View as Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 13, 2009 at 2:44:36 AM

9

Using standardized detail sheets

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 17, 2006 at 11:25:27 PM

0

Flagging new Drafting Views - How to reference a drafting view detail?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 1, 2007 at 3:26:29 PM

5

Error when inserting drafting view from file "Unable to copy elements from file"

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 1, 2010 at 10:06:39 PM

2

Trouble copying detail items from Section View to Drafting View

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 19, 2013 at 6:08:05 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1649774

Objects:

22095

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4384

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights