RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

212 Users Online (85 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Select All Instances does not actually show all instances

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Mar 28, 2013 at 6:18:40 PM | Select All Instances does not actually show all instances

#1

nicholesap


active
nicholesap Avatar

Joined: Tue, Sep 19, 2006
8 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


When I try to "select all instances" the "in entire project" is grayed out, leading me to believe that there are no instances of that object type in the project.

But when I try to delete the family type, I get a message that the type is being used in the project? Also, when I Purge Unused, the object type in question is not on the list. I want to delete this detail component from my project, but if I can't find and replace it, how am I supposed to know which view it's getting deleted from?

Suggestions?



-----------------------------------

Adam P. Nicholes

Revit Implementation Expert

nicholesap@msn.com

480.678.1710

LinkedIn

 

 

 

EXCELLENCE BEYOND EXPECTATIONS

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 28, 2013 at 6:26:01 PM | Select All Instances does not actually show all instances

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


If you are trying to delete it what does it matter if there is an instance being used, your getting rid of it anyway.  What exactly is this you are tring to erase? Your best bet is to create another one in your project so you can see it then select the one u just make, right click and select all instances in entire project then delete or change the type.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 28, 2013 at 6:38:37 PM | Select All Instances does not actually show all instances

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


If Revit will not let you delete the family, it could be in a group that is not being used.  It could also be in anther detail family.  If it were a model element (I know you said detail), it could be in a design option.

 

There is no way with standard Revit to know what view a detail component is in.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in View"

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Jun 15, 2017 at 5:07:36 PM

7

select all instances??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 6, 2009 at 1:36:04 PM

3

SELECT ALL INSTANCES

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 6, 2008 at 3:54:52 PM

1

Searching for the instances of a family within a project

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 14, 2013 at 1:23:17 PM

8

Select all instances by view

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Apr 27, 2010 at 12:11:08 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1474015

Objects:

21056

Forum Posts:

151019

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6758

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights