RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

72 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit 2013 Rendering mass issues

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Mar 19, 2013 at 1:56:33 PM | Revit 2013 Rendering mass issues

#1

1amoore


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 19, 2013
2 Posts
No Rating


Hey friends,

 

When i created my project, i built the furtanture in Sketchup and imported them into Revit 2013 as in place masses. Now, when i place a camera in a floor plan view and point it towards the furnasture, i doesn't read it in my "to be rendered" view. Any idea on how to fix this so the furnature is visable?

 

Also, I looked up how to apply materials to the masses from sketchup and it doesn't give me the option to. Any ideas on how to do this as well?

 

Thanks,

Adam


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 19, 2013 at 2:05:41 PM | Revit 2013 Rendering mass issues

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


Have you looked in the help menu for the material problem?

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Revit/enu/2013/Help/00001-Revit_He0/0061-Start_a_61/0066-Using_In66/0070-Importin70/0073-Importin73/0075-Limitati75

 

Also I'm not sure if you are using the correct termonology or if you are actually importing the sketchup families as masses.  Don't import them as masses, thats not what they are, they are components.  I would import them into a furniture family first and assign my materials then load the family into the project.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Mar 19, 2013 at 2:46:06 PM | Revit 2013 Rendering mass issues

#3

1amoore


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 19, 2013
2 Posts
No Rating


Hey, Thanks! Could you run me through or send me a link on how to import something as a furniture family?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 20, 2013 at 10:48:40 AM | Revit 2013 Rendering mass issues

#4

andy777bennett


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 4, 2012
67 Posts
No Rating


- if you simply cannot see the mass in your camera view, open the view and go to visibility graphics to be sure Mass is checked (default is unchecked)

- I have found that importing sketchup into revit creates new materials in your project. Each one coresponds to a different material that was in sketchup. They will be named "rendering material 0-0-0" or something like that. the numbers are the RGB closest to what it was in sketchup.

This is tedious, but put your view in shaded mode and go into the materials list. Change the graphics for each material to random colors like pink, purple... then hit apply and you can see in your view which ones are for which face. now rename them all and give them the right properties.

You cannot change the material (to the best of what I know) to a different one, but you can edit and rename the ones given to whatever you want. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 20, 2013 at 10:56:42 AM | Revit 2013 Rendering mass issues

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


1amore,

  1. Start a new family using the furniture template
  2. Import sketchup into that family
  3. Name and Save the family
  4. The materials are controlled by the CAD layers in the sketchup file - adjust now or later in the project
  5. Load it into your project

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2013 GPU Rendering using - Quadro 2000, 4000, & 6000

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 at 10:17:50 AM

10

2013: Joining Masses

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Sep 1, 2012 at 4:55:57 AM

1

problems with Revit 2013 in 3ds Max!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 4:25:44 PM

13

Revit 2013 - Rendering Benchmarks (Cornell box) Intel Xeon E5-series Results????

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 20, 2013 at 6:47:05 PM

11

Revit 2013 Rendering and Materials

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 25, 2012 at 1:11:08 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

2003433

Objects:

22887

Forum Posts:

152177

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.6412

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights