RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

197 Users Online (81 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Topographic surface linked vs. in model

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 18, 2013 at 6:22:48 PM | Topographic surface linked vs. in model

#1

nelrock


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 4, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


Hi all,

does anyone know if I will save memory and increase performance if I link my topographic surface instead of having it directly created in the model? Here is my current situation: I have up to three separate buildings on one rather large and somewhat complex topo surface.  One of the buildings is existing and the other two will be new construction.  Originally, I was thinking of having the existing building and topo surface as one file and linking the other two but maybe if I have the topo surface as it's own separately linked file this may help with performance??


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 18, 2013 at 6:48:27 PM | Topographic surface linked vs. in model

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


We usually have the topo in a seperate file but there is no need to .  When linked in, you can place in its own workset and not load the workset.  << That will improve performance.

 

With multiple buildings, we keep the topo seperate and have all of the buildings linked into the site and with all of their worksets off except for the shell.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 19, 2013 at 6:36:56 PM | Topographic surface linked vs. in model

#3

nelrock


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 4, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


Awesome!  Thanks for the suggestions.  That sounds like a good way to go about it.  I have limited experience with worksharing so just to clarify a few things...

 

Each building in this scenario are separate shared files (i.e. the existing building is a shared file with a central and local copies which gets linked into the topo surface file, same thing for all other buildings).  Am I correct in assuming that there is no need to share the topo surface file because once the topo surface is generated, its location is set, and the buildings are linked and positioned properly within the topo surface, there will be minimal editing required on this file?

 

Assuming all this is correct and following your suggestion, when enabling worksharing on my building files I would set up 3 worksets, for example - shared levels and grids, shell, and interior components or something like that.

 

One question that just came to mind - say I've finished all my construction documents and I'm ready to print.  I guess I would set up all my sheets from the topo surface file because it's the only one with all the buildings and the topo surface.  Hmmm, maybe it would be good to share this one as well in that case so multiple people can be working on setting up and tweaking the sheets.

 

Thanks for any advice you might have on this and for your patience!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 19, 2013 at 8:36:29 PM | Topographic surface linked vs. in model

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


You print from your building file because all of the 2D annotations will be in that.... back link the topo into that.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:15:37 PM | Topographic surface linked vs. in model

#5

nelrock


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 4, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


Right, thanks!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Hiding the edges of a topographic surface

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 3, 2008 at 4:44:15 PM

2

Scheduling Topographic points

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 29, 2009 at 12:52:43 AM

0

TOPOGRAPHIC ELEVATION CHANGE

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 16, 2009 at 5:27:25 AM

4

Creating a topographic surface from image

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 5, 2009 at 7:44:38 PM

4

Topographic surface Fill cut control

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 6, 2011 at 3:23:50 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1454809

Objects:

20598

Forum Posts:

150689

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 11.3834

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights